Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. The bread has a wonderful texture and cuts easily into slices for sandwiches. It retains its moisture and doesn't dry out quickly like other bread recipes I have made. My husband and I both love the taste and the texture of this bread. Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I cut the recipe in half and it worked great. This is a very tasty bread and even I had no problem with it working out! Everyone went YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is definitely the bread for us! I was looking for a healthy whole-grain bread recipe that wasn't too dense. This is it! Moist, chewy, and absolutely mouthwatering straight out of the oven. It doesn't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am not an expert at breadmaking and this recipie looked a little intimidating, but it really wasnt difficult to make at all. It turned out so delicious! I brought it in for my coworkers to try and they thought it was great too, even better than our favorite local bakery, some thought. And when I got home from work my honey had eaten half a loaf by himself! I would highly recommend this bread to wheat bread lovers like us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This bread is a winner. It has a great texture--chewy and grainy--plus really good flavor. I didn't have sunflower seeds so I substituted oatmeal in its place. This recipe is VERY large, so it may be better to have or even third it. I divided into 6 small round loaves like the recipes says to and baked individually on a small pan since my oven is tiny. I had to hand form the loaves because they were too sticky to roll out. I ended up using about an extra 1/2 c. of bread flour in kneading, but it never really became kneadable. I ran out of bread flour at that point. Nonetheless, the bread came out very good. I will make this again and do more subsituting. Maybe add dried cranberries with the sunflower seeds or walnuts and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I really liked this bread. It is packed with seeds, and grains. A great bread for fasting. It really is a hearty and wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
This is an excellent heavy, grain bread! The recipe was easy to follow with well-known ingredients. For anyone looking for a healthy bread recipe, I recommend this one! Also, I varied mine after I got to know the recipe. You can replace any of the following ingredients (flax seeds, cracked wheat, and sunflower seeds) with equivalent amounts of, old-fashioned oatmeal, sesame seeds, or even cracked bulgur cereal. For a nice, fancy touch coat your cookie sheets with yellow cornmeal (makes a nice bottom crust on the loaves)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I scaled the recipe to 20 and made this in my bread machine using the 1.5lb loaf whole wheat setting. It came out excellent!The best wheat bread I have ever made in my machine and I make bread daily. I din't have any lemon juice so I substitued it for water and it still worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This is simply the best bread I have ever made! Thank you for this recipe! I am opening a B&B and this is the third day in a row I have made up this delicious batch of bread! MMmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is a wonderful bread recipe. My bread of choice has been the Country Seed Bread from this site. It holds up great for sandwiches. Now this recipe is gaining. Its tasty dense texture is absolutely perfect for the chicken salad and tuna salad sandwiches that my family craves for lunch. Thanks Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States