Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have very little experience with yeast breads and half expected this not to come out on my first try, but it did come out beautifully. It's time-consuming but not especially difficult to make. I enjoyed making it and my husband and I are enjoying eating it. It's delicious and nice to bake something I can eat 100% guilt-free for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the BEST bread recipe! I make it at least twice a week (6 kids.) The flavor is sensational--my very favorite. A few changes to make it easier, more nutritious, and fluffier. I use 100% whole wheat flour (no white flour) I use instant yeast and I do add 2 tbsp each of dough enhancer, lecithin, and vital wheat gluten. This bread is so light, fluffy, and delicious everybody just LOVES it. I don't do all the separate rising stages anymore, too much work, too much time, and too much mess. I just throw all the ingredients in at once, mix it up, knead it, put it in the loaf pans, (if you coat your hands with crisco this is much cleaner and easier) put them in the oven with the oven light on to rise, then when they are risen enough turn the oven on and bake them. It doesn't hurt them at all to be in the oven while it preheats. The loaves come out perfect: light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Highland, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My most successful bread-making experience yet . . . deliciously crispy crust but soft and chewy on the inside. I took some to my class and now everyone loves me. I added 2 T. wheat germ along with the other grains, substituting cooked whole wheat and oats for cracked wheat--it worked well. During kneading, the dough was quite sticky so I kept adding flour (up to 1-1/2 cups more than called for)--not sure if that was the right thing to do, but the bread still came out wonderfully! Thanks for all your work on this great recipe. Definitely worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This came out too dry for my tastes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
My first ever attempt to make homemade bread- and this was the absolute best! It was easy and tasted great! It made 4 loaves I froze some dough- two loafs and we are eating one instead of the bread we bought at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This bread was really good and quite simple to make! I accidently used all whole wheat flour and it was still very very good - maybe didn't rise as much as it should have because of this but still did rise quite a bit. I halved the recipe and made 2 full sized loaves and 4 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
MMmmm... one of my favorite restaurant/brewing companies serves a free loaf of excellent grainy wheat bread with every meal, and I was looking for a recipe that would be similar to theirs. I made this yesterday, scaled down to 20 servings, and ended up with two absolutely perfect loaves. I added 2 tbsp wheat germ and topped it all off with King Arthur's Artisan Bread topping... other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it is positively marvelous. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This bread is really good! I changed the servings to 20 as others have suggested and it yielded 1 regular sized loaf and 4 rolls. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. I kneaded the dough for 20 minutes and it rose very nicely on top of a warm stove. I think different combinations of seeds and nuts would work just as well too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. It's a lot of work to make but well worth it for delicious and healthy homemade bread. We make this often and freeze extra loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States