Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great recipe, easy to follow and great bread every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was my very first attempt, ever, at baking bread. I halved the recipe because I didn't want to screw up a WHOLE batch. Because of the distraction of two small children things were risen longer than stated and kneaded less time than stated but the end result, while not high and fluffy like store bought breads is pretty darn good!! I will definately make this again and add more seeds, we love seedy breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Like some other reviewers, I didn't do all the rising stages. Mixed all the ingredients with my KitchenAid Mixer, let rise for an hour, punched down and let rise another 30 minutes. Came out very nice! Next time, I might let it rise for longer the second time (to see if it the bread gets fluffier). Also, if you scale the recipe down to 24, it makes a 9X5 bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Fool proof and completely adjustable. I was baking with a 3 year old "helping" me and got distracted enough to forget the oil, egg and lemon juice...still turned out great. I cut the recipe in half and did two loaves and one pan of 12 rolls(8x8). I baked the rolls for 5 minutes less. Yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
When you think about health breads, you normally think dark and heavy. This one isn't. It's light with a great wholesome nutty flavour. Unlike many homemade breads, it keeps for ages too! This is my family's favourite bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very tender and yummy for a WW bread. Here are the changes I made to the recipe. I proofed the yeast (used equal amount of instant)then added the other wet ingredients. I used VOCO instead of vegetable oil, cider vinegar instead of lemon juice and blackstrap molasses instead of regular. Added the dry ingredients (minus the last 2 cups of flour) plus 1/2C of vital Wheat gluten and 2 heaping Tbs of dough enhancer. I used all WW flour except the last 1-2 cups of bread flour that I added until the dough held together well. I will certainly be making this again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This bread is wonderful, I make it all the time. The only change I make is flax seed for the wheat germ, but that's only because for some reason I'm having trouble finding it. This recipe has replaced the store bought bread we bought for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
i got a lot of compliments on this bread. i followed the recipe except i used oatmeal because i didn't have any sunflower seeds and i added a little more oatmeal, cracked wheat, and ground flax seed then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very nice. I like being able to find a recipe that has whole grains in it. I didn't have flax seed, just flaxseed meal, so I put that in instead. I also didn't have cracked wheat, so I subbed oats. Although I don't usually have a problem with breads baking within the recommended time in my oven, this bread needed another 10 minutes for it to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Del Sisters
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good. The texture was really nice. I added 3T. gluten and 2t. dough enhancer I also used all wheat flour. It a=only make 4 loaves though?!? My family loved it, we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States