Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious! Used oat bran hot cereal instead of the cracked wheat. Skipped all the 20 minute rests and step 5 totally. Bread turned out awesome and it saved some time not doing these extra steps. Oh, and I did add about 1T whole wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
loved it! i used 100% whole wheat flour (i don't see a point in making it less healthy than it could be). i didn't have sunflower seeds but added some unprocessed wheat bran and oatmeal. i tripled the honey, added some wheat gluten to help it rise and stay fresh longer, and added a little extra yeast since i was working with all whole wheat. and, i just threw the ingredients into my bread machine on the dough cycle. when it finished, i let it rise in a slightly warm oven for an hour, then turned on the oven. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was so hopeful after reading all the rave reviews, but mine ended up really dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I make this bread often. It always turns out and even the kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARASAGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is awesome bread. I do cut the recipe in half and make two large loaves (instead of 3 small). With a few changes, this is our standard bread that I make once a week and we use it for everything from toast to sandwiches. I use agave juice in place of the sugar and I use a 9-grain mix from my grocery store's bulk bins in place of the cracked wheat. I replace half the water with milk. It is really delicious- nice and soft, good texture, and the taste is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RRSPANGLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Overall I like this recipe a lot and use it often. I occasionally have trouble with the bread falling when it first begins to bake. Haven't figured out what I'm doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! I reduced the number of servings to 24 and that was enough to make one very large loaf. I will be making this again and again, adding nuts and dried fruit, and reducing the bread flour to make it a little less soft for easier for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Amazing! I'm not a brown bread fan and this is going to become a staple at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The Loaf was way too small. i did divide the recipie by six for one loaf, not sure if that was the promblem or not. Other than that SO NICE!! it was a desert or somthing , that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My family and I love this bread! Sometimes I double up on the seeds and add alittle less of the bread flour. I also add some wheat gluten and it's awesome. Great recipe and thanks for sharing Dee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States