Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was my first time ever baking bread, and it came out great! I scaled it down to 12 servings for 1 loaf a little on the small side. I didn't have all the add-ins, so it put in oatmeal, millet and quinoa. Came out much better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My new favorite bread recipe. I used flax seed, walnuts, and wheat bran because I didn't have cracked wheat or sunflower seeds. Wonderful texture from the nuts and seeds, but still surprisingly light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious bread! I know you are supposed to rate a recipe making it exactly as written, but I'm not doing that. Since my husband can't eat seeds and because I didn't have cracked wheat, I subbed those with rolled oats. My flax was meal rather than seed. I used white whole wheat flour rather than the bread flour and so added one tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. One half the recipe made one 9x5 loaf and one smaller one. This makes very yummy toast for our breakfast. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is delicious- so light and fluffy! I used all whole wheat flour (no white), apple sauce instead of oil (I always do this when baking), and oatmeal because I didn't have cracked wheat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have never baked bread before, and this turned out PERFECT. I followed the recipe step by step and the bread is absolutely delicious! A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
WOW!!! AMAZING!!! I have never made a whole wheat bread that turned out this light & fluffy! It is literally so fluffy it's like store bought; hard to spread peanut butter on it without tearing it...even hard to slice it without squishing it! I don't want those to sound like bad things--this bread turned out PERFECT!!! I wanted to make it exactly as instructed in the recipe despite my tendency to change things...I wanted to know how it was SUPPOSED to turn out before changing it. I've experimented with a lot of bread recipes-I make bread regularly & barely ever buy at the store anymore. This one is what I've been looking for! As one reviewer stated, I believe that it is the PROCESS in this recipe that makes a difference. Many of my WW recipes are half bread flour/half WW because despite my desire to use all WW I cannot get a light enough loaf that my family will eat. The proportion of WW to bread (white) flour in this recipe is already a lot more that what I'm used to, & it is sooo fluffy! I am definitely going to use all WW next time & see how it turns out. Even though the processes make this recipe a little longer to make, it is not more difficult, & I think it is worth it! The only changes I did make were to add a dry 9 grain cereal (whole grains) instead of cracked wheat b/c I didn't have the cracked wheat, & I added 2 Tbsp. of vital wheat gluten. MARVELOUS! I did leave the bread in the oven when I turned it on to preheat-didn't hurt it. It made 5 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueroni7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe, thanks! Like another reviewer I used apple cider vinegar in place of the lemon juice, turned out great. Also, thanks to the Mom of 6 who mentioned she puts her dough in the oven for raising and leaves it in there while the oven preheats as well. I tried both, preheating the oven before sticking it in to bake & with it in during preheat. The one that stayed in the oven while preheating was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very heavy, was a meal per slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Thank you Dee for this recipe!!!! Very good bread. I left out the lemon juice-never had that in a bread recipe before and I didn't see the purpose...I'm curious if anyone knows. I halved the recipe and made three nice loaves. It's a dense loaf, filling. I kept the molasses at 1/4 cup. I added millet, oatmeal, sesame seeds and flax. I didn't have the cracked wheat or sunflower seeds. As others have said, this is a versatile bread. You can mix up the seed and nuts as you like. I shaped my loaves and baked them on preheated clay tiles. The dough held it's shape nicely as it rose in the oven. I will be using this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZABETHRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Love this! Thanks. I made half the recipe. Didn't have cracked wheat so substituted 1/2 C from the whole wheat flour for multi grain bread flour instead. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States