Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So good! I followed Sarah Jo's steps and did it all in one bowl in the KitchenAid using half the recipe and made two loaves. For the "extras" I use the cracked wheat, flax meal, oat bran plus 1/4 cup soy flour. The dough was still pretty wet but manageable and I like dough moister so left it that way. It doubled perfectly in 60 minutes, formed in two loaf pans, rested 20 minutes, then baked at 350 for 25 minutes. It rose a ton and one loaf split open (lack of loaf forming technique probably) but settled down during the cooling time. This bread has perfect texture & crumb plus great flavor and I like the little crunch the cracked wheat gives. I imagine the seeds would be even better but I have a lot of other stuff that needs to be used up for now. This one is my new staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I did cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end instead of making this bread by hand. I proofed my yeast with the ALL of thw warm water and sugar in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the honey, molasses, melted butter (instead of vegetable oil, I'm out until payday), eggs and lemon juice then all the dry ingredients, beating well with the paddle attachment with each cup of dry, as the recipe stated. I had to add just a touch more of whole wheat flour, just to get it to form into a solid ball. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm heating pad to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in two loaf pans for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about a half hour, maybe a little more. One of the best breads my family has ever had--even my husband raved about it and he's not much for "healthy" bread. My kids and I just loved it. EXCELLENT as breakfast toast. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This may be one of my favs! To make healthier I used all whole wheat flour, substituted coconut oil for vegetable oil, and used Agave in place of sugar. Made a batch scaled to 18 in my bread machine on light crust & basic wheat setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kchris
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Really good! I reduced the recipe to a third (24 servings), used only whole wheat and also used oats instead of flax. I didn't have time for all the separate rising stages, so I just mixed the first ingredients and let it rest 10 min, then added the salt and flour, kneaded it for 10 min, and shaped into a long loaf. I placed it on a cookie sheet dusted w/ cornmeal, sliced the top a few times (for looks), covered it, and let it rise in the oven with the light on for 1 hr. Then baked as directed! I also brushed the top with egg whites during the last 10 min of baking. I rated only 4 stars because we all felt the sunflower seed taste was a bit overpowering. Next time I will replace the seeds w/ more cracked wheat or oats and replace the molasses w/ honey. Overall, nice hearty, crusty whole grain bread. Great w/ soup! Thanks Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Awesome scale to 20, cut back on mollasses a tad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was good but I was a little disappointed after having read all the good reviews. I made the recipe exactly as indicated, except for the following: I cut it in half to make two loaves and one pan of rolls; I added a couple of tablespoons of gluten; and I had to sub oatmeal for the cracked wheat. I was unable to knead in almost a whole cup of flour (would've been two cups on the unhalved recipe); the dough was saturated and I didn't think it could take any more. All the resting seemed a little excessive, since it isn't usually required in the other bread recipes I make. (I'm no expert, but neither is this my first time making bread.) Anyway, the loaves were small and puny for the loaf pans, not even filling them, and were nothing like the pic. Overall, the bread was quite wheaty, but pretty good and suitable for sandwiches, as I had hoped. But it wasn't just so delicious that I'd gobble it up by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
As good as it gets. Flavourful, easy to make and oh so good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This bread is excellent! Made exactly according to the recipe and it turned out great, my husband loved it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was excellent. I scaled it down to 24 servings and it made 2 loaves - not huge loaves but just the right size for my DH and self. (I used just 1 egg for the two loaves.) Two loaves is about right for the week so I will be making this frequently from now on. I did buy some 5 grain cereal to add to it this next time. We both felt it needed more whole grains. I did add some whole flax seed, quinoa, oats, sesame, and sunflower seeds the first time around. Also, per another reviewers suggestion, I did soak those grains in a bit of water while I was mixing things up. Just enough water to cover the grains. So use whatever grains you have handy. This is a super easy recipe and very, very tasty! Makes great toast and even garlic bread for those Italian meals. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Oh. My. Gosh. This bread RULES!!! All I did was take out the salt and it helps it rise a bit. Not against salt, just forgot to put it in the first time (woops) and realized I didn't need it! Also, I made it in 2 loaf pans. Wait til you try it toasted! WOW! I also added lots more flax seeds (about another 1/8 cup, wheat bran, irish oats, barley, wheat berries (both unsoaked!) and used only wheat flour. This bread is absolutely unbelievable! THANK YOU DEE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States