Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the BEST bread recipe! I make it at least twice a week (6 kids.) The flavor is sensational--my very favorite. A few changes to make it easier, more nutritious, and fluffier. I use 100% whole wheat flour (no white flour) I use instant yeast and I do add 2 tbsp each of dough enhancer, lecithin, and vital wheat gluten. This bread is so light, fluffy, and delicious everybody just LOVES it. I don't do all the separate rising stages anymore, too much work, too much time, and too much mess. I just throw all the ingredients in at once, mix it up, knead it, put it in the loaf pans, (if you coat your hands with crisco this is much cleaner and easier) put them in the oven with the oven light on to rise, then when they are risen enough turn the oven on and bake them. It doesn't hurt them at all to be in the oven while it preheats. The loaves come out perfect: light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Highland, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I scaled the recipe to 20 and made this in my bread machine using the 1.5lb loaf whole wheat setting. It came out excellent!The best wheat bread I have ever made in my machine and I make bread daily. I din't have any lemon juice so I substitued it for water and it still worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
This is an excellent heavy, grain bread! The recipe was easy to follow with well-known ingredients. For anyone looking for a healthy bread recipe, I recommend this one! Also, I varied mine after I got to know the recipe. You can replace any of the following ingredients (flax seeds, cracked wheat, and sunflower seeds) with equivalent amounts of, old-fashioned oatmeal, sesame seeds, or even cracked bulgur cereal. For a nice, fancy touch coat your cookie sheets with yellow cornmeal (makes a nice bottom crust on the loaves)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am not an expert at breadmaking and this recipie looked a little intimidating, but it really wasnt difficult to make at all. It turned out so delicious! I brought it in for my coworkers to try and they thought it was great too, even better than our favorite local bakery, some thought. And when I got home from work my honey had eaten half a loaf by himself! I would highly recommend this bread to wheat bread lovers like us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I've made this bread a few times now, and with fantastic results each time. Lovely taste and great texture. I scaled it down to 18 servings so it would work in my bread machine, and I used egg whites in place of the whole egg. I've made it with all whole wheat flour, adding 1 T vital wheat gluten, and it still worked. Works well to grind the sunflower seeds, cracked wheat, and flax seeds so as to hide them from young eyes who wouldn't otherwise eat them! Love this bread! Thanks, Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This bread is a winner. It has a great texture--chewy and grainy--plus really good flavor. I didn't have sunflower seeds so I substituted oatmeal in its place. This recipe is VERY large, so it may be better to have or even third it. I divided into 6 small round loaves like the recipes says to and baked individually on a small pan since my oven is tiny. I had to hand form the loaves because they were too sticky to roll out. I ended up using about an extra 1/2 c. of bread flour in kneading, but it never really became kneadable. I ran out of bread flour at that point. Nonetheless, the bread came out very good. I will make this again and do more subsituting. Maybe add dried cranberries with the sunflower seeds or walnuts and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This is simply the best bread I have ever made! Thank you for this recipe! I am opening a B&B and this is the third day in a row I have made up this delicious batch of bread! MMmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is definitely the bread for us! I was looking for a healthy whole-grain bread recipe that wasn't too dense. This is it! Moist, chewy, and absolutely mouthwatering straight out of the oven. It doesn't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I cut the recipe in half and it worked great. This is a very tasty bread and even I had no problem with it working out! Everyone went YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I did cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end instead of making this bread by hand. I proofed my yeast with the ALL of thw warm water and sugar in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the honey, molasses, melted butter (instead of vegetable oil, I'm out until payday), eggs and lemon juice then all the dry ingredients, beating well with the paddle attachment with each cup of dry, as the recipe stated. I had to add just a touch more of whole wheat flour, just to get it to form into a solid ball. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm heating pad to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in two loaf pans for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about a half hour, maybe a little more. One of the best breads my family has ever had--even my husband raved about it and he's not much for "healthy" bread. My kids and I just loved it. EXCELLENT as breakfast toast. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States