Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. The bread has a wonderful texture and cuts easily into slices for sandwiches. It retains its moisture and doesn't dry out quickly like other bread recipes I have made. My husband and I both love the taste and the texture of this bread. Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I cut the recipe in half and it worked great. This is a very tasty bread and even I had no problem with it working out! Everyone went YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I really liked this bread. It is packed with seeds, and grains. A great bread for fasting. It really is a hearty and wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
This is an excellent heavy, grain bread! The recipe was easy to follow with well-known ingredients. For anyone looking for a healthy bread recipe, I recommend this one! Also, I varied mine after I got to know the recipe. You can replace any of the following ingredients (flax seeds, cracked wheat, and sunflower seeds) with equivalent amounts of, old-fashioned oatmeal, sesame seeds, or even cracked bulgur cereal. For a nice, fancy touch coat your cookie sheets with yellow cornmeal (makes a nice bottom crust on the loaves)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I scaled the recipe to 20 and made this in my bread machine using the 1.5lb loaf whole wheat setting. It came out excellent!The best wheat bread I have ever made in my machine and I make bread daily. I din't have any lemon juice so I substitued it for water and it still worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is definitely the bread for us! I was looking for a healthy whole-grain bread recipe that wasn't too dense. This is it! Moist, chewy, and absolutely mouthwatering straight out of the oven. It doesn't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am not an expert at breadmaking and this recipie looked a little intimidating, but it really wasnt difficult to make at all. It turned out so delicious! I brought it in for my coworkers to try and they thought it was great too, even better than our favorite local bakery, some thought. And when I got home from work my honey had eaten half a loaf by himself! I would highly recommend this bread to wheat bread lovers like us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This is simply the best bread I have ever made! Thank you for this recipe! I am opening a B&B and this is the third day in a row I have made up this delicious batch of bread! MMmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This bread is a winner. It has a great texture--chewy and grainy--plus really good flavor. I didn't have sunflower seeds so I substituted oatmeal in its place. This recipe is VERY large, so it may be better to have or even third it. I divided into 6 small round loaves like the recipes says to and baked individually on a small pan since my oven is tiny. I had to hand form the loaves because they were too sticky to roll out. I ended up using about an extra 1/2 c. of bread flour in kneading, but it never really became kneadable. I ran out of bread flour at that point. Nonetheless, the bread came out very good. I will make this again and do more subsituting. Maybe add dried cranberries with the sunflower seeds or walnuts and some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
The bread does not rise very much, I might try to make only 1 loaf with a half recipe so my slices will be big enough to make a sandwich on. However I really enjoy this bread, the flavor and texture are excellent. It is good toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States