Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This bread is really good! I changed the servings to 20 as others have suggested and it yielded 1 regular sized loaf and 4 rolls. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. I kneaded the dough for 20 minutes and it rose very nicely on top of a warm stove. I think different combinations of seeds and nuts would work just as well too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. It's a lot of work to make but well worth it for delicious and healthy homemade bread. We make this often and freeze extra loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe is amazing, and easy too! I had never made bread before without a bread machine, and so was expecting it to not turn out so well; but it turned out wonderful! And it's very tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
amazing bread!!! i made the dough in the bread machine (half recipe) and baked it in the oven. you can add or substitute so many things...oats/wheat germ etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
WOW!! This bread is great! I just started making bread a few weeks ago and this one is easy and great tasting. I scaled the recipe down to 18 servings and as recommended by another reviewer, I used only whole wheat flour and added 1T of wheat gluten. Additionally I used organic coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil and only used egg whites instead of the whole egg. The resulting bread is soft, fluffy and tastes great. I plan on continuing to make this bread as my staple one instead of buying from the store. Thanks much Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a pretty good bread recipe. I blended different flours together and subsituted rolled oats and barley for the nuts. I substitued hazelnut oil for vegetable oil for more flavor. It is a really flavorful and slightly sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent!! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is the best bread I have made or eaten. I have given the recipe out to numerous people because once they taste the bread they want to make their own. Thanks for sharing Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie S
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is a very delicious whole grain bread. I added some finely chopped pumpkin seeds. This is great for sandwiches and for dunking in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe worked well for me. You can really add as much flaxseed/cracked wheat/seeds as you want. Thanks for a good recipe that's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States