Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I'm new to bread making but this is an amazing recipe. I did over cook it a little bit so it was a little dry but I'm sure I'll get it right next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippie.heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My family LOVED this bread!!! I made 2 batches with only a few modifications (additonal seeds, only whole wheat flour, egg beaters) and they were a hit. Then I made a batch with walnuts, dried cranberrys and orange zest..... my family went wild and I am stuck making another batch this weekend....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love this recipe! It's pretty much the only bread recipe I use.. I do play around with the grains though (The cracked wheat, sunflower seeds and flax) Sometimes I put an 1/8 of those and then add 1/8 cup of hemp hearts, oats, and pumpkin seeds. I also love topping the bread with rosemerry and a little grated cheese..YUm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe makes two beautiful loaves of bread. I took someone else's suggestion to just let it rise once in the bread pans. I changed the balance of wheat to white flour....added more wheat/less white. To assure good rising I added some vital wheat gluten. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe. I cut the loaves in thin slices because it is a very filling bread. I would just like to know what is the appoximate content in grams of fiber and protein per slice or for the whole recipe so I can do the math. Anyone can help with that? I like to eat no less than 4 grams of each protein and fiber per slice so I'm hoping this bread fits that need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was my first time ever baking bread, and it came out great! I scaled it down to 12 servings for 1 loaf a little on the small side. I didn't have all the add-ins, so it put in oatmeal, millet and quinoa. Came out much better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My new favorite bread recipe. I used flax seed, walnuts, and wheat bran because I didn't have cracked wheat or sunflower seeds. Wonderful texture from the nuts and seeds, but still surprisingly light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious bread! I know you are supposed to rate a recipe making it exactly as written, but I'm not doing that. Since my husband can't eat seeds and because I didn't have cracked wheat, I subbed those with rolled oats. My flax was meal rather than seed. I used white whole wheat flour rather than the bread flour and so added one tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. One half the recipe made one 9x5 loaf and one smaller one. This makes very yummy toast for our breakfast. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is delicious- so light and fluffy! I used all whole wheat flour (no white), apple sauce instead of oil (I always do this when baking), and oatmeal because I didn't have cracked wheat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have never baked bread before, and this turned out PERFECT. I followed the recipe step by step and the bread is absolutely delicious! A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States