Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I'm giving this 5 stars. It turned out really well, and was good. BUT, what it really did for me is finally resolve what I was doing wrong when making wheat bread. I only make whole grain, wheat recipes. I have a favorite recipe which is GREAT in flavor, but I couldn't get the texture right. It's all in the PROCESS. THANK YOU, Thank You, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I made this with quantity for two loaves and we thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I've made this bread a few times now, and with fantastic results each time. Lovely taste and great texture. I scaled it down to 18 servings so it would work in my bread machine, and I used egg whites in place of the whole egg. I've made it with all whole wheat flour, adding 1 T vital wheat gluten, and it still worked. Works well to grind the sunflower seeds, cracked wheat, and flax seeds so as to hide them from young eyes who wouldn't otherwise eat them! Love this bread! Thanks, Dee Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Bread is awesome. I did subsititute olive oil for veg oil, oatmeal for cracked wheat, ground flax seed for flax seeds, and needed to subtract 1 1/2 cups of bread flour and add 1/2 cup of water. I'm not sure how the author got so much flour in it, but it was falling apart for me after the 10th cup of flour. I was able to get 5 good loaves of bread with this recipe and it certainally is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Thank you for a great recipe. I baked it for a work "soup and bread" lunch where it was a hit. The extra loaves were snapped up in an instant and several bakers wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This is great bread. In order to keep the six loaves fresh, it is necessary to tightly wrap and freeze the extras. It does not stay moist and fresh tasting very long. The flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Outstanding taste and texture! I love the fact that this is one of the "whole-wheatiest" of the wheat bread recipes on the site. I ended up with one large loaf (very much sandwich-sized) and about 18 hamburgersized rolls. I know I will use this recipe again and again. Bravo, Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I initially cut the recipe to 24 servings for a 2lb loaf in the bread machine; it almost overflowed the pan. So I took a previous suggestion and reduced the recipe to 20 servings for a 1.5 lb loaf. I found that if I left out the egg and added about a tablespoon of gluten, the bread had a softer texture. I also use 1T each cracked wheat, flax and sunflower seeds. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This bread is absolutely excellent -- my family loved it! I modified it slightly to make it with sourdough and to make only two loaves (it is a HUGE recipe). The sourdough made an outstanding recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This bread came out great! I cut the recipe in half. I did all the kneading and rising in my bread machine. After that, I put the dough in my largest springform pan and baked it in the oven. It rose beautifully. It looked great and tasted wonderful!!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States