Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
WOW!! This bread is great! I just started making bread a few weeks ago and this one is easy and great tasting. I scaled the recipe down to 18 servings and as recommended by another reviewer, I used only whole wheat flour and added 1T of wheat gluten. Additionally I used organic coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil and only used egg whites instead of the whole egg. The resulting bread is soft, fluffy and tastes great. I plan on continuing to make this bread as my staple one instead of buying from the store. Thanks much Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a pretty good bread recipe. I blended different flours together and subsituted rolled oats and barley for the nuts. I substitued hazelnut oil for vegetable oil for more flavor. It is a really flavorful and slightly sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent!! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is the best bread I have made or eaten. I have given the recipe out to numerous people because once they taste the bread they want to make their own. Thanks for sharing Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie S
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is a very delicious whole grain bread. I added some finely chopped pumpkin seeds. This is great for sandwiches and for dunking in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe worked well for me. You can really add as much flaxseed/cracked wheat/seeds as you want. Thanks for a good recipe that's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is really good and flavourful bread! I have a bread machine, but (when I have the time) like to make bread by hand...and this recipe was a good choice. It is moist, slightly sweet and so soft on the inside! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and made 3 loaves. I only have one loaf pan, so I made 2 into french bread-style loaves. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Couldn't find cracked wheat so just increased the sunflower seeds etc. Processed some of the seeds. Great basic recipe. Will enjoy playing with the ingrediants. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is some of the best bread I have ever made. To get more nutrition from the bread, I grind the flaxseeds. This bread is great for making calzones as well. I just cut in half the dough for one loaf of bread and that yields two good size calzones. I am having a hard time getting the bread to look like the picture. I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A really good recipe, that wasn't difficult at all. I had no sunflower seeds, or cracked wheat, so I used double the flax and some poppy seeds. It was good, and I'm sure it will be better when I make it with the ingredients that it called for. I cut the recipe in half and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States