Dee's Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe - wonderful taste and wonderful texture! I made it to serve to our playgroup when both parents and tots came over this fall for an afternoon of apple picking, and I just realized I forgot to review it! I was looking for a quick-bread that would be a little different than the run of the mill zucchini or pumpkin or banana - and this got rave reviews from everyone! (I did omit the walnuts because I wasn't sure about the tots being able to chew them well and because of allergy concerns). I just used a standard loaf pan, but have kept an eye out for the longer-style pan in second hand shops that Joan wrote about in the recipe's intro. I'm so glad to have a new way of including dates in our snack-times. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Just what I was looking for. So much like the date/nut bread my mother used to make. Also much like a brown bread baked in cans that my niece used to make(and would not share the recipe!) Think I will try it again using part dates and part raisins and bake in the cans. As suggested by another review, I used hot coffee in place of the water and think that was what made this recipe perfect in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We love this bread. Very sweet. Cooked full hour and it was perfect. Substituted 1 cup white wheat flour for 1 cup all purpose and then used all purpose for the rest of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
SO good and rich-tasting, despite the relatively low fat content. I made this last Christmas and am getting ready to make it again. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very simple to make. Excellent turnout! I tried the original recipe. The only change was the malted barley flour. I had barley and made it into flour in my Blendtec blender. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is absolutly wonderful.I will definitly make this more then once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
My mother gave me this recipe years ago, my whole family just loves it! Be sure to serve with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Tastes just like my Nana's bread. She used to use coffee cans to bake with, which worked really well, giving the bread a nice all-around crust. I haven't tried using them yet, but you can bet I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Excellent recipe! Didn't have walnuts, so I substituted pecans. Great with butter or crean cheese. Didn't last long. Plan to make it again for our Memorial Day get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Just want you to know..i have this exact same recipe..my mother-in-law gave it to me...she always made it at Christmas...and now i do...it is a very good date/nut loaf....it isnt supposed to be too sweet...i also have the long loaf pan that they dont make anymore!! it was my mother-in-laws....this is a great recipe for date/nut bread...great with cream cheese on warm slices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States