Dee's Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is absolutly wonderful.I will definitly make this more then once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
My mother gave me this recipe years ago, my whole family just loves it! Be sure to serve with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Just want you to know..i have this exact same recipe..my mother-in-law gave it to me...she always made it at Christmas...and now i do...it is a very good date/nut loaf....it isnt supposed to be too sweet...i also have the long loaf pan that they dont make anymore!! it was my mother-in-laws....this is a great recipe for date/nut bread...great with cream cheese on warm slices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
really good. I did add one mashed banana (just because it needed to be used up) and a generous sprinkle of ground ginger. I baked in muffin tins (large) for approx. 35 minutes at 350. Will make again. Next time I may add two sprinkles of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I only needed to bake for 45mins. Thankfully my sense of smell led me to check it earlier or else it would've burnt & been no good. Toothpick came out clean, turned out wonderful & delicious! I used fresh strong brewed coffee instead of the boiled water. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Tastes just like my Nana's bread. She used to use coffee cans to bake with, which worked really well, giving the bread a nice all-around crust. I haven't tried using them yet, but you can bet I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe - wonderful taste and wonderful texture! I made it to serve to our playgroup when both parents and tots came over this fall for an afternoon of apple picking, and I just realized I forgot to review it! I was looking for a quick-bread that would be a little different than the run of the mill zucchini or pumpkin or banana - and this got rave reviews from everyone! (I did omit the walnuts because I wasn't sure about the tots being able to chew them well and because of allergy concerns). I just used a standard loaf pan, but have kept an eye out for the longer-style pan in second hand shops that Joan wrote about in the recipe's intro. I'm so glad to have a new way of including dates in our snack-times. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Excellent recipe! Didn't have walnuts, so I substituted pecans. Great with butter or crean cheese. Didn't last long. Plan to make it again for our Memorial Day get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Tasty and makes a nice solid loaf that doesn't crumble when you cut it. I went with part whole wheat pastry flour (about 1/3), half brown sugar, an extra tablespoon of butter, and a little more vanilla, in the interests of both better health and taste, all of which worked well. I'm sure it's quite good as it stands, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Just what I was looking for. So much like the date/nut bread my mother used to make. Also much like a brown bread baked in cans that my niece used to make(and would not share the recipe!) Think I will try it again using part dates and part raisins and bake in the cans. As suggested by another review, I used hot coffee in place of the water and think that was what made this recipe perfect in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States