Dee's Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very simple to make. Excellent turnout! I tried the original recipe. The only change was the malted barley flour. I had barley and made it into flour in my Blendtec blender. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was a nice bread, not quite as sweet as I would have liked, but had good texture and made a good size loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We love this bread. Very sweet. Cooked full hour and it was perfect. Substituted 1 cup white wheat flour for 1 cup all purpose and then used all purpose for the rest of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Tasty and makes a nice solid loaf that doesn't crumble when you cut it. I went with part whole wheat pastry flour (about 1/3), half brown sugar, an extra tablespoon of butter, and a little more vanilla, in the interests of both better health and taste, all of which worked well. I'm sure it's quite good as it stands, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
A nice desert bread, but requires a lot more time to cook, I believe I added 20 minutes. Good taste and texture but makes a very large loaf. I think I would reduce the number of servings to 8 to get a more accurate timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Just what I was looking for. So much like the date/nut bread my mother used to make. Also much like a brown bread baked in cans that my niece used to make(and would not share the recipe!) Think I will try it again using part dates and part raisins and bake in the cans. As suggested by another review, I used hot coffee in place of the water and think that was what made this recipe perfect in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
NOT WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
really good. I did add one mashed banana (just because it needed to be used up) and a generous sprinkle of ground ginger. I baked in muffin tins (large) for approx. 35 minutes at 350. Will make again. Next time I may add two sprinkles of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
SO good and rich-tasting, despite the relatively low fat content. I made this last Christmas and am getting ready to make it again. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I only needed to bake for 45mins. Thankfully my sense of smell led me to check it earlier or else it would've burnt & been no good. Toothpick came out clean, turned out wonderful & delicious! I used fresh strong brewed coffee instead of the boiled water. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States