Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Yup, have to agree with the other reviews ~ wonderful recipe, I used Moose and it was a huge success! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a great app. or main dish, We have been making these for years but we put a slice cream cheese in the middle with the jalepeno before wrappping and throwing on the BBQ. Delicious! Oh and be the way I am not a big fan of Deer meat but I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were the hit of the superbowl party. Only one problem I did not make enough. Oops! Even my hunter fiancee who does not eat venison ate them every time he went into the kitchen. I did heat some grape jelly to dip in. Was very good. Will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texas wild hair
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed the process of making this dish. While you are preparing the meal you should put in a good CD ( I chose “The Gipsy Kings”) and have a beer or a glass of wine. I have a wife who does not like "gamey" tasting deer meat and I promised that I would find a way that she would eat the meat. This was it, without a doubt! The meat was tender and tasty. I modified the recipe a little because I added a slice of onion in the preparation and instead of tooth picks I just put the poppers on a kabob skewer. My wife doesn’t like Bacon much either (too much fat) so instead of wrapping her pieces in Bacon I just laid it on top of her skewer while I grilled them, then removed the bacon before serving. I complimented the poppers with a side dish comprised of heated Caned Corn, Black Beans, red onions and Avocado – as well as a baked potato. Everything was perfect along with a beer for me and a glass of Shiraz for my wife. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Clearly for the "don't like the taste of deer" crowd. I would suggest any more subtle marinade than italian dressing. The venison and jalapenos work, the bacon and italian dressing smother the deer steak. If you don't like the taste of venison, eat beef or pork! A great waste of good venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I was looking for a new way to cook venison as an appetizer, this was a winner! Have made it for 2 different gatherings and both times they were gobbled up in a matter of minutes. I also used with elk and made some with bell peppers for those who were worried about the heat of the jalepenos. Both were delicious - thank you so much for the great recipe, I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Wow! I served these at a party, and everyone ate them(not knowing what they were) when I told them they were astounded and all wanted the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Excelent--I've made them many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Oh my gosh! Absolutely wonderful! I used venison round steak. I cut it in chunks, taking off all of that "white stuff". I used Wish-Bone Robusto Italian dressing with a couple squirts of A1 Chicago Steakhouse liquid marinade, as I did not have "steak seasoning" on hand. I used thick sliced bacon, and de-seeded the peppers, then sliced them into thin slices to reduce the "heat". I used a Weber charcoal grill...make sure you lower the heat. You do not want the bacon to burn. Also, one more tip: If you forget to soak your toothpicks, just put them in a cup of water and micowave for a few minutes! Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Outstanding! I followed the recipe as is, and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States