Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Clearly for the "don't like the taste of deer" crowd. I would suggest any more subtle marinade than italian dressing. The venison and jalapenos work, the bacon and italian dressing smother the deer steak. If you don't like the taste of venison, eat beef or pork! A great waste of good venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I was looking for a new way to cook venison as an appetizer, this was a winner! Have made it for 2 different gatherings and both times they were gobbled up in a matter of minutes. I also used with elk and made some with bell peppers for those who were worried about the heat of the jalepenos. Both were delicious - thank you so much for the great recipe, I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Wow! I served these at a party, and everyone ate them(not knowing what they were) when I told them they were astounded and all wanted the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Excelent--I've made them many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Oh my gosh! Absolutely wonderful! I used venison round steak. I cut it in chunks, taking off all of that "white stuff". I used Wish-Bone Robusto Italian dressing with a couple squirts of A1 Chicago Steakhouse liquid marinade, as I did not have "steak seasoning" on hand. I used thick sliced bacon, and de-seeded the peppers, then sliced them into thin slices to reduce the "heat". I used a Weber charcoal grill...make sure you lower the heat. You do not want the bacon to burn. Also, one more tip: If you forget to soak your toothpicks, just put them in a cup of water and micowave for a few minutes! Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Outstanding! I followed the recipe as is, and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Excellent! Followed the reipe exactly and they turned out great. I used the left over marinade to marinate venison chops. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I can not rave enough about this recipe. Most of our meals consist of deer meat and this was one of the best. I did reverse some steps and make a few alterations. I left out the Greek and steak seasonings, marinated the jalapeno slices with the meat, put the jalapeno slice on top of the bacon rolled venison( this makes it easier to be removed and looks good on the serving tray), Then I lightly sprinkled with Montreal seasoning and baked at 400 degrees for ten minutes and then crisped them up in the broiler. Thanks DJ8BUD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I sliced deer tender loin between 1/4 and 1/2 inch thick, lightly spinkled it with Ms. Dash Steak Seasoning and marinated it in Kraft Fat Free Italian dressing on the counter about 2 hours. I did not have greek seasoning or hot peppers. I placed meat and all the marinade in a pan with 3 Tbsp bacon grease and cooked till done. This was great served with wild rice and the marinade made a very flavorful gravy. My DH eat 2/3 of the first batch. Luckily I had more laid out in case this recipe failed, so I marinated it and fixed it for my sons when they got home. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I have to give this 5 stars even though I changed one thing. I'm not a fan of jalapeno peppers so I used pepperoncini which gives it heat but not so much that it covers the taste. My husband who said he's never had venison cooked any way he liked...liked these!I snuck one in and told him it was beef. I made some using cubed beef steak (which will be served during the rest of the year when it's not hunting season)and everyone liked them also but the venison was the winner between the two. These can also be made in the oven I cooked them at 400 for 15 minutes then put them under the broiler to crisp up the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States