Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are wonderful! Made them for a party and they disappeared in a matter of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Not over the top! If you are the type of cook who likes to WOO those you feed, I wouldn't say this is it, yet it is definitely a recipe you can alter. My husband, whose venison I cooked with, was taken back with the peppers. He likes spice, but not to take away from the taste of the dish. Eliminate the peppers, maybe substitute with onion, mushroom?? something else, or a milder pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Yum. I had been meaning to try this for awhile and finally got around to it last night. I used beef (we had just gotten a home-raised one "taken care of" and, as usual, my husband and I wanted to try it ASAP), marinated in Wishbone House Italian dressing (absolutely amazing, by the way) and nixed the seasonings in favor of a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash. Per another reviewer, I put them in the (convection) oven at 400 for 10 minutes, then under the broiler. We will definitely be using this one again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very delicious but I took the advice of another and crisped the bacon in the oven on broil. Will definitly be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
GREAT recipe! I didnt have deer meat, so I used Jimmy Dean sausage and it worked wonderfully. Other than that I didnt change anything. So tasty. Making this again real soon... my son requested it again for his upcoming "back to school" party. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I follow the recipe exact. I swiped the hubby's "saved" backstrap. Marinated it in Creamy Italian dressing for about 3 hours, removed and cut into chunks, wrapped with bacon and held together with toothpicks. It was fabulous. Did this for a 4th of July party, everybody wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
100% loved them...my friends and i couldnt stop eating them till they were gone!! I also cut cup a block of pepperjack cheese and made little cubes to slide down the toothpicks for the last 5 minutes of cooking...that made this dish PHENOMINAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Excellent meal! We have this weekly at home - a twist I use is to cut a slice into the meat and put a pepper inside the cut then wrap in bacon. We also soak our's in Dale's overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
They were great. We marinated for 2 days and tenderized them. I added fresh mozzerella with the peppers and then wrapped them in the bacon with black pepper. Instead of cooking the deer meat before we wrapped them, and threw them on the grill just long enough to brown the bacon, then placed them in foil packets to keep in the juices. I have to say the meat was a little dry, but very tender. It could use a bit more seasoning. Just a bit bland. Good eats though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious!!! Very nice flavor combinations. Everyone thought they were beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Guillory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States