Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ahandful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I did not follow the recipe. I used deer sausage, didn’t use a grill and I did not allow the ingredients to marinate for the proper amount of time. I would make this dish again as an appetizer. The sausage added a spicy element that was complemented well by the jalapeños which were tangy from the vinegar...again I altered by not using fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
this was really good make it 2 times but the 2nd time i added finely chopped onion and garlic and a table spooon of franks hot sauce to the marinade it was great people loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I didn't use the jalepenos and used a store bought marinade, but loved this recipe. There was no gamey taste and the bacon was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zysk
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe, and it was a great way to use up some of the venison in our freezer. I made the recipe as directed, allowing the meat to marinate overnight. This recipe masked any of the gamey taste typically associated with venison, which I don't enjoy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been making these for years! Our whole family loves them even the venison haters. The only thing that I do different is I put a little dab of cream cheese in with it and I use thinly sliced bacon and pull it thiner before wrapping. This keeps the bacon flavor and helps give the bacon a crispier texture. If your deer hunters also duck hunt this is a great recipe to substitute the venison with thinly sliced duck breast pounded out flat. (my personal favorite)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Add CREAM CHEESE! My family loves bacon wrapped deer! We do it a little differently in Louisiana. Marinate in Dales for about 20 minutes(Do NOT marinate too long or meat will be salty!!!) Salt Pepper Garlic. I added small squares of cream cheese with mild jalapenos and wrap with bacon. Great on grill using shishkabob rack (saves time and no more stabbing yourself). We also tried this recipe using steak meat and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These were so good, a family favorite. Now when we go to outing they ask us to make them. I added some chopped up green onion to the cream cheese that I put inbetween the jalapeno and the venison steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious. Surpassed my expectations... be sure to remove the toothpicks, since the ends can burn off and guests may not know they're in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We made these tonight and they are amazing! I have got one in my mouth right now! :) The only thing we changed was we used a roasted red pepper italian dressing, but I doubt it made much of a difference. We will certainly be making these again when hunting season comes around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Should get a 6! I made these for a party and they were a hit. Everyone loved them including my wife who hates venison! Did everything except for the greek seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States