Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I absolutely loved it!!! This is the perfect recipe for those who are new to deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing!!! I skipped the Greek & Steak seasoning and did the rest as it says. they didn't last long. Will double up next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this tonight for the first time, and we absolutely loved it. Used others suggestions and tried cream cheese in some and pepper jack in some. We don't normally like cream cheese, but we actually like those best. My husband and 11 year old could not stop raving about how good they are! I have to agree, the deer tasted like beef, no gamey taste! Overall... Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Fantastic. I marinated the venison steaks in white wine and garlic for a few hours. Then sprinkled on some Creole or steak seasoning. Rolled them up and then poured a little italian dressing (fat-free) on as I put them on the grill. I also ran out of jalapenos so I used cherry peppers. I liked how the bacon kept the venison from drying out on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Next time I'll try making these with Allegro Marinade instead of Italian Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Growing up eating deer meat I find it sad many people don't like the taste of venison. These are always a hit at every party I make them for. They rarely last 10-15 minutes after I set them out. Great way to use up cube steak which is generally tough on its own. I have also had success baking then broiling them in the oven when a grill isn't handy. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes then broil until the bacon is crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypiphi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these for a end of year fantasy football game. I didn't use any seasoning, but I had Carribean Jerk marinade so I used that, marinated the venison chunks for about 5 hours, used bottled sliced jalapenos and high quality bacon. Gone in no time, everyone thought the heat was just right. Even people who didn't like hot stuff liked them, and people who didn't like venison had no idea it was venison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Wow! I am new to cooking venison, and this recipe is fantastic! Only after I'd begun prep did I realize that I had balsamic vinaigrette, not Italian, salad dressing. I used it and it turned out great anyway. Also, for steak seasoning, I used a meat rub (closest I had). I also used a lot less salad dressing than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My brother is the hunter and gives me back-strap every year. I usually make a stew or just cut it up and stir fry it on the stove top for wraps. i Wanted to grill it and found this recipe and since my garden is overrun with jalapenos I gave it a try. I cut my meat into 2 by 3 inch chunks and marinated them for about ten hours. I used the exact marinade and spices except I also used a few dashes of Teriyaki sauce. I used a whole piece of bacon to wrap with and put a jalapeno slice on one side of the meat and on the other a slice of sweet onion, and wrapped tightly, pretty much covering the whole chunk of meat. We grilled on charcoal with a direct side and indirect heat side, that way we could move the pieces that were done first to the indirect side while working on the ones that still needed to cook more. Turn these constantly while cooking and be careful because bacon drippings will send up some flames once in awhile. Once the bacon was pretty crispy and even getting a bit blackened we removed them from the heat. It took about 20 - 30 minutes for each over medium high coals to cook, depending on their size. Oh wow... were these ever tender and tasty and even the bacon was cooked to perfection. The jalapeno gave just enough spice, not too much. I will be telling my bro about this one. We served this with Coleslaw with a kick here on AR, was a perfect match together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These are fabulous! Don't change a thing. I'll admit, I did cook the bacon just a little before wrapping around the tasty tid-bits of venison and pepper. (Hubby likes his bacon REALLY crispy.) And I cooked them on a rack in a 425 degree oven due to the wild weather we were having outside. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States