Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I can not rave enough about this recipe. Most of our meals consist of deer meat and this was one of the best. I did reverse some steps and make a few alterations. I left out the Greek and steak seasonings, marinated the jalapeno slices with the meat, put the jalapeno slice on top of the bacon rolled venison( this makes it easier to be removed and looks good on the serving tray), Then I lightly sprinkled with Montreal seasoning and baked at 400 degrees for ten minutes and then crisped them up in the broiler. Thanks DJ8BUD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
You will love this recipe! We have prepared this recipe three times in the past 3 weeks. Each time we served it to a different group and were met with rave reviews! Temperatures have been below zero here so the only alteration we made was to bake/broil them in the oven rather than grill them. *****UPDATE****** We entered our poppers into an appetizer contest amongst friends and tied for 1st place with a total of 20 entries! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I have never enjoyed deer having not been raised on it so when my husband started hunting i wasn't pleased to start cooking deer. This recipe changed all that. We love it. I like to use the loin of deer. My kids even love it they just take out the jalapeno pepper before they eat it. I fixed it for Thanksgiving and the cousins who are from away from here loved it. They all said they hated deer til they tried it too!! Give it a try. You will Love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
My whole family really loved this recipe, though the jalapenos made them a little too spicy for some. I thought about trying them with green chiles next time. I made a few without the jalapenos and they were a big hit too. Also instead of grilling, they can be broiled in the oven, with cook time being 5min each side to brown the bacon. Most people didn't even have a clue that it was deer they were eating. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my recipe collection. Thanks DJ8Bud
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
These are delicious. Every time I make them I run out. I always marinate them overnight as it gives the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a great one to disguise the deer meat. I am not fond of deer, and found this to be delicious, and everyone loved it! I did mine on the grill with foil, added a little butter so the meat would not stick, and also cooked sliced onions with it. Is a keeper of a recipe. The jalopenos do make it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These were great - they disappeared in no time! They are quite hot, some removed the peppers, some didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I have to give this 5 stars even though I changed one thing. I'm not a fan of jalapeno peppers so I used pepperoncini which gives it heat but not so much that it covers the taste. My husband who said he's never had venison cooked any way he liked...liked these!I snuck one in and told him it was beef. I made some using cubed beef steak (which will be served during the rest of the year when it's not hunting season)and everyone liked them also but the venison was the winner between the two. These can also be made in the oven I cooked them at 400 for 15 minutes then put them under the broiler to crisp up the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I sliced deer tender loin between 1/4 and 1/2 inch thick, lightly spinkled it with Ms. Dash Steak Seasoning and marinated it in Kraft Fat Free Italian dressing on the counter about 2 hours. I did not have greek seasoning or hot peppers. I placed meat and all the marinade in a pan with 3 Tbsp bacon grease and cooked till done. This was great served with wild rice and the marinade made a very flavorful gravy. My DH eat 2/3 of the first batch. Luckily I had more laid out in case this recipe failed, so I marinated it and fixed it for my sons when they got home. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Excellent! Followed the reipe exactly and they turned out great. I used the left over marinade to marinate venison chops. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States