Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These are great. I skewered them to make it easier to flip around, [practicing for munchies for the Super Bowl, this ones in the line up.] Served them with 'Devil's Steak Sauce' from this site, insanely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband has been eating venison for over 20 years and he said that this was the best he has ever had. I only used Italian dressing to marinade and I did a little piece of cream cheese between the jalepeno and deer meat. It was wonderful! You need to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by ahandful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I did not follow the recipe. I used deer sausage, didn’t use a grill and I did not allow the ingredients to marinate for the proper amount of time. I would make this dish again as an appetizer. The sausage added a spicy element that was complemented well by the jalapeños which were tangy from the vinegar...again I altered by not using fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
this was really good make it 2 times but the 2nd time i added finely chopped onion and garlic and a table spooon of franks hot sauce to the marinade it was great people loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I didn't use the jalepenos and used a store bought marinade, but loved this recipe. There was no gamey taste and the bacon was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zysk
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe, and it was a great way to use up some of the venison in our freezer. I made the recipe as directed, allowing the meat to marinate overnight. This recipe masked any of the gamey taste typically associated with venison, which I don't enjoy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been making these for years! Our whole family loves them even the venison haters. The only thing that I do different is I put a little dab of cream cheese in with it and I use thinly sliced bacon and pull it thiner before wrapping. This keeps the bacon flavor and helps give the bacon a crispier texture. If your deer hunters also duck hunt this is a great recipe to substitute the venison with thinly sliced duck breast pounded out flat. (my personal favorite)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Add CREAM CHEESE! My family loves bacon wrapped deer! We do it a little differently in Louisiana. Marinate in Dales for about 20 minutes(Do NOT marinate too long or meat will be salty!!!) Salt Pepper Garlic. I added small squares of cream cheese with mild jalapenos and wrap with bacon. Great on grill using shishkabob rack (saves time and no more stabbing yourself). We also tried this recipe using steak meat and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These were so good, a family favorite. Now when we go to outing they ask us to make them. I added some chopped up green onion to the cream cheese that I put inbetween the jalapeno and the venison steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious. Surpassed my expectations... be sure to remove the toothpicks, since the ends can burn off and guests may not know they're in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States