Deer Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
we used deer loin and after mixing put all in crock pot for 6 hrs on low.put sour cream in last 2 hours.meat was marinated in Italian dressing,Garlic Tabasco,cavenders for 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madrid, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Deeeeeeeelicious!!! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We had no idea what to expect with this one. I was craving mac and cheese and needed an easy protein to accompany it. I remembered we had some venison tenderloin in the freezer (thanks, Mr. LTH) and decided to give this a whirl and give it a "face". It doesn't specify what cut to use, so I'm not sure if I used the "right" cut or not. I also question some of the methodology (I'd have sautéed onions, mushrooms, and garlic first, then seared the beef...I'd also have mixed all of the "other" ingredients together before adding them), but it came together better than expected at the onset. It wasn't gamey, but it was tough (and I'd simmered for 2 hours). Worth trying, particularly if you're familiar with cooking venison and can make the game time adjustments necessary. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Omg! I just tried this recipe tonight. This was my first attempt @ cooking venison. Super easy and super delicious! I cooked it with a full stick of butter, served it over egg noodles, and topped with mozzarella cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
not bad flavor. We had some chunk deer meat so I used it and yes simmering is key. My son who doesn't care for deer liked it so I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This turned out amazing! I didn't have any mustard powder and used cumin instead. It tasted really good with it and this is going to be my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pop18ish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe was very good! My family and I really enjoyed the tangyness of the sour cream with the sweet of the tomato. I used tomato sauce instead of paste and it still turned out a little pasty I think next time I won't use the flour. I served it over steamed white rice my whole family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have never cooked venison before. My husband's dad brought us meat all packaged and labeled. I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. So happy I did. He loved, I loved it. Totally hooked now. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, added about a 1/4 cup Sierra Nevada Porter (beer) and used tomato sauce I previously made from our garden tomatoes. I had to cook it longer (1 1/2 hours) on simmer with a covered lid to make it more tender. Other then the few changes I made I followed your recipe leaving nothing out. So glad I did. Served with fresh sliced heirloom tomatoes. This was a wonderful first time venison recipe for me. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mum's The Baking Secret

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This dish was extremely bland and much too tomatoey. The tomato paste was overwhelming. I served it over rice. I ate it (although I'm not very picky), but my husband who is not a tomato lover only ate a couple of bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family really liked this and its hard to please everyone. I didnt have all the neccessary ingredients so i improvised and it still turned out great. We put it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States