Deer Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
not bad flavor. We had some chunk deer meat so I used it and yes simmering is key. My son who doesn't care for deer liked it so I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This turned out amazing! I didn't have any mustard powder and used cumin instead. It tasted really good with it and this is going to be my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pop18ish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe was very good! My family and I really enjoyed the tangyness of the sour cream with the sweet of the tomato. I used tomato sauce instead of paste and it still turned out a little pasty I think next time I won't use the flour. I served it over steamed white rice my whole family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have never cooked venison before. My husband's dad brought us meat all packaged and labeled. I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. So happy I did. He loved, I loved it. Totally hooked now. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, added about a 1/4 cup Sierra Nevada Porter (beer) and used tomato sauce I previously made from our garden tomatoes. I had to cook it longer (1 1/2 hours) on simmer with a covered lid to make it more tender. Other then the few changes I made I followed your recipe leaving nothing out. So glad I did. Served with fresh sliced heirloom tomatoes. This was a wonderful first time venison recipe for me. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mum's The Baking Secret

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This dish was extremely bland and much too tomatoey. The tomato paste was overwhelming. I served it over rice. I ate it (although I'm not very picky), but my husband who is not a tomato lover only ate a couple of bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family really liked this and its hard to please everyone. I didnt have all the neccessary ingredients so i improvised and it still turned out great. We put it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I haven't tried the recipe yet to be honest but I'm thinking maybe try tomato sauce or tomato soup instead of the paste. Paste has a much stronger taste to it than a soup or sauce does and tends to "take over" the taste of a dish. Plus like others said this doesn't say what type of deer meat to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlalivvix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Not a very appealing or tasty recipe. The sauce ended up being like ketchup on the meat. I would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
It is amazing recipe, I loved it. This is the first time I eat deer meat with out feeling odd test in my mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
"Home run" was my husband's co-workers' exact words when they tasted this dish! It wasnt gamy at all, and the flavours blended together wonderfully. Saving this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States