Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Fantastic! Will definitely be making this again. We used beef and deer. We also tried in the oven and in the dehydrator, both ways turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Gable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Came out very tasty! Used teriyaki instead of Worcestershire for one batch and came out store bought like. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I think I like this recipe because it's heavy on the Worcestershire (must be the anchovies :). Last batch, I deleted the ketchup and added 1/4 cup of light brown sugar; we like the sweet and salty thang. Yum! Another thing I do is to not worry about slicing the meat thin. Just take a hunk and beat the heck out of it with a course tenderising hammer on a plastic cutting board (sort of like cubed steak) until it's quite thin (do both sides a couple of times). The tougher cuts come out more tender and the meat takes the marinade quicker. Note: Cheap dehydrators may not get hot enough. Test for 140+ degrees or finish in the oven (for safety). We scored a barely used Nesco (adjustable temp) with extra trays a few years back at a yard sale for $25 (!!). Keep your eyes open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this recipe but added 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, 1 tablespoon of honey, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of Kraft Honey Bar-B-Que Sauce. My oven would not set below 170 degrees, so I set it on 170 degrees and slowly cooked it for 3-1/2 hours. The deer jerky has a good texture to it and is not tough at all. The next time I make it I think I'll add some extra spices to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Turned out perfect, children,wife, in laws loved it an asking for more. I will add a little more black pepper just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
excellent recipe, same one i used to use when i was a kid that i found in an old cookbook. one suggestion that i might add was to change out the soy sauce with teriyaki sauce, tried it one time because we were out of soy, little different taste but i like it maybe u will too. i usually make both now just to give me two different kinds of jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
i just started using this recipe.it is very good but the only thing i did different was added brown sugar. what a difference. try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My son shot his very 1st deer/buck this year, and we love jerky so I used this recipe, and it turned out amazing!!! Then my husband said it needed more heat, so in the 2nd batch I made, I forgot the ketchup on accident, but added a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and only did 1 1/2 tbsp of liquid smoke, and cut the meat a little bit thicker and well we ate the whole batch in a matter of minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desertdessert
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I have it in the oven right now and it smells delicious!. I used kabob sticks to skewer the meat and hang between the oven rack. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
it was really good first time trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States