Deer Chop Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My kids ate seconds! I served it over buttered egg noodles. Next time i make it tho i will use less brown sugar. It is very sweet. I used jack daniels bbq sauce instead of catsup and added a splash of soy sauce. I put the shoulder roast in it frozen. After a couple hours i pulled it out,cubed it and then put it back. Started at 10am and ate by 5pm :-) tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bortner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was sweet, but the meat was not gamey at all. My meat was a little dry though. Served over rice. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and not brown meat in skillet first and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
LOVE THIS. I EVEN TRIED IT ON MEAT LOAF IT WAS AMAZING NOTHING WAS LEFT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
There was nothing wrong with this recipe, but it was not spicy enough for my tastes. If you don't like spicy, you will probably like it. Going in, I figured this would be the case. I made it exactly as directed just to see. Had to give it some zing by pouring off the liquid and adding homemade BBQ sauce. I would recommend adding Montreal Steak seasoning and red pepper flakes if you prefer hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this using small cutlets of deer meat, similar to beef stew meat. I had to double the sauce to put in it but thankfully I realized that when I had made the first batch and poured over the meat like the recipe instructed. I also baked it in a 325* oven for about an hour and a half. I served it over rice, which was ok. The meat tasted like beef jerky. And the sauce was similar to a bbq sauce, I only put 1/3 cup of brown sugar because I didn't want the meat to have a sweet taste like other reviewers have stated when made like the recipe suggested. I cook for 6 kids every night and occasionally 9 kids plus myself and husband, they are all ours the older ones just don't eat at home some nights. The kids that ate this were 14, 13, 8, two 6 year olds, 4, and 3. All but the 13 year old liked it ok. They all said it tasted like deer jerky, but two of the kids ate a second helping. My husband didn't like it but ate it anyways. I liked the first 5 bites, but will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The best venison recipe we have ever used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The whole Family Loved this recipe...even my 6 year old who is a very picky eater. I followed this recipe except I scaled down the sugar just a bit I used 1/3 cup of packed sugar like the others suggested and served with mashed potatoes..delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I think I cooked mine too long so it was a little dry. I only had 1 1/2 lbs of venison. But we loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We were looking for a way to cook some venison chops that were given to us by a family member. Followed the recipe exactly other than chopped an apple with the onion and threw it in because it sounded good. It was a hit, even with a finicky 9 year old. My wife mentioned the leftovers she took for her lunch were kind of sweet so will probably reduce the brown sugar to 1/4 or 1/3 cup next time. Also plan to throw some cut up potatoes in the last few hours next time to complete the meal. I think this would work well with multiple types of meat not just venison. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1 only because my husband liked the deer meat with this recipe. I don't like the smell or the taste of deer meat but after reading some of the reviews I thought this recipe would help mask the smell and taste. WRONG! This recipe caused the whole house to smell awful for hours because the ketchup and onion mix made the deer smell so much worse! I couldn't even try it when it was done. Because of this I use a different recipe now that's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States