Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
First two star I have given. There is just better ways to fry chicken. I think if I did this again I would leave off cover and add more spices. Very plain and not as crispy as other fried chickens I tired. I think its because of moisture building up when the cover is on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Made tonight for first time, turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing your method & recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved, loved this recipe! I took others advice and brined my chicken (only for 1 hour since that's all I had time for). I couldn't keep my husband and brother-in-law away. I thought I'd have left overs, but guess not. Thanks Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I've been making fried chicken for years with all the mess of eggs and sticky floured fingers. This is the easiest and tastiest chicken I've ever made. I did add 1/2 a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder and a teaspoon of paprika. Follow the directions, it's all in her technique and it is delish! Thank you Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This a recipe I use all the time except I use season salt (instead of salt). I add garlic and onion powder and chile and paprika powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I loved it! I added some paprika and crushed red chili peppers to the mix and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wonderful recipe for a beginner. Nice and crispy and golden-brown, cooked all the way through. Oh-so-tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEBarnard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The only thing I did was improvised using tender flaky lard as I didn't have other on hand all and all I think it turned out great better then what thought it would and I also tried egg yoke and put some bread crumbs in with flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is similar to the way I've fried chicken for 45 years. Since I usually cook for at least 10 people, who always eat at least 2 pieces each, that involves a lot of frying! I dredge my chicken in the seasoned flour and place one layer in the hot grease, browning on both sides. I then remove that layer and brown another layer, and continue browning layers and removing them until the last layer. When I turn the last layer over, I add the previously browned chicken on top of that layer, and cover the skillet. (I often use two dutch ovens since I make so much.) I then turn the heat down to low and let it all cook about 15 minutes. I then remove the lid and all but the bottom layer of chicken. I turn the heat back up to medium high and crisp up that layeron both sides, then remove it to a wire rack over a jellyroll pan and place it in a 200º oven to keep warm while I crisp up the rest of the chicken, one layer at a time. Everyone who has eaten my fried chicken claims it is the best they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is the way my mother and grandmother both made fried chicken. It's also the way my husband's (also a multi-generational Georgian) grandmother made fried chicken and they raised chicken on their farm. I'm from the deep south (5th generation Georgian) and this is the only way I had fried chicken until the fast food places came along. It makes for a thinner crust, and to my mind is much more the traditional deep south fried chicken than one where you use eggs to make a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States