Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I was craving Fried chicken, so when i came upon this recipe i was stunned to see how simple it looked. I loved it. I did add a little more salt and pepper, and i used oil instead of shortening. I will be making this again. AND so true about the cast iron skillet. didn't stick at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
Marilyn: This is just what I needed, The technique is perfect. The med high heat, then the lid cover to add the steam, then the browning,Thank you so much, wow, i think I have it now. I do admit, I got a little scared with just salt and pepper, so I added a small amt of garlic powder and some poultry seasoning, It was very moist, and worth the time in my opinion. Thanks, Pedinurse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
All the right ingredients and the best tasting southern fried chicken we have eaten. Quick and easy. Tastes great even when cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
We used our caste iron dutch oven. Works great, delicious chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Simple, and yet perfect...thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I know all about this recipe, it was MY grandma's recipe, too! There's just no other way to make good fried chicken. And it is true, you do need a good iron skillet, or it's just not the same. I love the Christmas Day idea, too, I might have to adopt that tradition. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
This recipe is easy and the results are wonderful. I've tried various and often complicated fried chicken recipes to find the perfect one, but sometimes the simpliest is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Thank you so much for teaching the art of making fried chicken just like Mom's! I added some garlic powder and some natual all spice to the mix, it came out great and my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Just like the chicken I remember my Grandmother making in North Carolina. This will remain around in our house for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have chicken thawing at home and wasn't sure what I wanted to do with it, until I remembered this recipe. My Mom made the best fried chicken, but of course she doesn't use a recipe. I have never had any luck trying to recreate the taste and texture of her chicken until I tried this recipe. It came out just like Mom's, maybe even a little better!!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe and all the great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States