Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Just a note:) when cooking meats such as fried chicken, that has a crust and using eggs, use only the yolks. The egg whites can cause the crust to burn before the meat is completely done cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
910 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Excellent!! The only thing that makes it better is brining the chicken. Soak the chicken in a brine of 3/4 cups salt to 3 quarts of water for 2 hours, no more or the chicken will be salty. Brining it makes it more tender and gives a crispy skin. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Wow. I have tried to make fried chicken many times different ways. On the stove, in a deep fryer, in an electric skillet. This was the best, simplest way to prepare it. Now, don't think it's supposed to look and taste like KFC. Deep fried and pan fried produce two very different types of chicken. This had a thin, crisp coating and was nice and juicy inside. I don't have a lid for my skillet so I just used aluminum foil. I do think the seasoning is a bit bland. I served this with creamy gravy I made from the drippings. I will use this method again. Anybody can do it and it didn't even make a mess! Really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Wonderful recipe! A few modification: used 2 cups vegetable oil, added 1 tablespoon garlic powder and 1 tablespoon paprika. I coated the chicken in the flour mix and then dunked it in an egg batter. Then I recoated with flour. My chicken came out extra crispy, moist, and juicy! Thanks Marily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCook
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was just like my mom used to make. It was good and basic. An iron skillet is really a must. I didn't really change anything. In the end, I drained off most of the oil and made cream gravy with the drippings. Great over rice. I also looked at the Fried Chicken Recipe by Shirley. They are very similar and combined the instructions for both recipes. I gave this one an extra star because of the great tips it included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I was craving Fried chicken, so when i came upon this recipe i was stunned to see how simple it looked. I loved it. I did add a little more salt and pepper, and i used oil instead of shortening. I will be making this again. AND so true about the cast iron skillet. didn't stick at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Couldn't be any easier to make this recipe. I used a teflon frying pan and shortening and had no sticking issues. I think the trick is to use shortening and NOT OIL. I also added a bit more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Great flavor and crust. I did marinate the chicken in buttermilk overnight and add seasoning salt, paprika and garlic powder to the flour. Don't forget to make gravy to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I didn't have a cast-iron skillet, so I used a regular one. I think the cast-iron is the key because my chicken stuck to the pan a little. Other than that, the chicken was really good. Mine came out pretty juicy and the coating was crispy. I'm going to try this again (with the cast-iron skillet) for my next family get-together. Thanks, Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Thanks so much for the tip on using a heavy skillet. I always had problems with the chicken sticking before. I marinated the chicken with buttermilk and garlic for a couple hours before coating with flour and frying. Delicious and juicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States