Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
Delicious and easier than I thought it would be, the breading stayed crispy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
Marilyn: This is just what I needed, The technique is perfect. The med high heat, then the lid cover to add the steam, then the browning,Thank you so much, wow, i think I have it now. I do admit, I got a little scared with just salt and pepper, so I added a small amt of garlic powder and some poultry seasoning, It was very moist, and worth the time in my opinion. Thanks, Pedinurse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
All the right ingredients and the best tasting southern fried chicken we have eaten. Quick and easy. Tastes great even when cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
We used our caste iron dutch oven. Works great, delicious chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Simple, and yet perfect...thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I know all about this recipe, it was MY grandma's recipe, too! There's just no other way to make good fried chicken. And it is true, you do need a good iron skillet, or it's just not the same. I love the Christmas Day idea, too, I might have to adopt that tradition. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
This recipe is easy and the results are wonderful. I've tried various and often complicated fried chicken recipes to find the perfect one, but sometimes the simpliest is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Although the outcome was good, I think additional seasoning is needed to give it an extra kick. I really liked using the shortening rather than oil to fry the chicken. It was less messy and did not splatter like oil will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This was my first time cooking fried chicken and I loved the fact that the receipe was really easy and simple to follow, plus my chicken came out great. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
Thank you so much for teaching the art of making fried chicken just like Mom's! I added some garlic powder and some natual all spice to the mix, it came out great and my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States