Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
it was good and easy. I did soak in a homemade buttermilk (1 tablespoon white vingar in measuring cup then fill to 1 cup mark with milk). I also added more seasoning to the flour mixture. Turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I've always been afraid to fry chicken but this recipe was so simple and I made a great batch of fried chicken for my family! Perfect old fashioned fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent fried chicken! I never cook fried chicken but decided to treat my husband and he enjoyed it immensely! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Great recipe! I added a few seasonings, which can be to anyone's liking. I have tried frying chicken many times but it never comes out right. Thanks to your timing, it came out PERFECT!!! I can see that this will be a favorite at my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow... this was so simple and delicious. This is true southern food! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AntoinettePeeps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My son has allergies to many foods so I have to really look at what is in each recipe and this one he can eat and he likes it. My 15 yr-old daughter had seconds! This one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was my grandmothers recipe for fried chicken and I've been dying to make it for my family. I knew it was just that simple but forgot that she lowered the heat and covered. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've been frying my chicken this way for years! I don't like all the gloppy mess of eggs and milk. I do add a few more seasonings though. I use McCormick Montreal Chicken seasoning and McCormick Unseasoned Meat Tenderizer. My chicken always comes out juicy,tender, and full of flavor. I also use Crisco Butter Flavored Shortening to fry mine in. The technique is what earned the 5 stars. Enjoy! You wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Craft Kirkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe is the standard for those of us south of the Mason/Dixon line. I tend to use more pepper than called for, which gives it more kick. But, of course, most folks in the south don't measure, per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDIERCKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the only way my mom would fry chicken except she started using vegetable oil instead of lard. My mom would always soak the chicken in water with salt and pepper in the fridge during the day(brining). For the longest time I would only eat her fried chicken. Now that I am grown and she is no longer here this is the only way I will ever make my fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Phillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States