Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
The shortening worked like a charm. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into large chunks, so my cooking time was less. The chicken was very moist inside and crispy outside. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! I agree with the May 18 posting to brine the chicken in salted water for about 2 hours before cooking, This will keep the chicken juicy when fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is just like my mom makes. Another variation is to put the fried chicken into a dutch oven with lid when finished frying, add water & simmer. It makes its own gravy & is so tender & juicy. I'm not sure of the amount of water, I add a little (1/2 cup) & keep checking. When I was a kid we had fried chicken just like Marilyn's recipe at least once a week. I especially loved it when mom took the extra step to make it this way. The chicken is so tender & you won't be able to eat it with your fingers. It's a bit messy to eat, but soooo good. I think I'll make some tonight. Every piece will be your favorite piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
it was good and easy. I did soak in a homemade buttermilk (1 tablespoon white vingar in measuring cup then fill to 1 cup mark with milk). I also added more seasoning to the flour mixture. Turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I've always been afraid to fry chicken but this recipe was so simple and I made a great batch of fried chicken for my family! Perfect old fashioned fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent fried chicken! I never cook fried chicken but decided to treat my husband and he enjoyed it immensely! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Great recipe! I added a few seasonings, which can be to anyone's liking. I have tried frying chicken many times but it never comes out right. Thanks to your timing, it came out PERFECT!!! I can see that this will be a favorite at my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow... this was so simple and delicious. This is true southern food! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AntoinettePeeps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My son has allergies to many foods so I have to really look at what is in each recipe and this one he can eat and he likes it. My 15 yr-old daughter had seconds! This one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was my grandmothers recipe for fried chicken and I've been dying to make it for my family. I knew it was just that simple but forgot that she lowered the heat and covered. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States