Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
well I didn't post a picture because there was none left. Finally I have found "my" recipe for FRIED CHICKEN! No messing around with milk, eggs and all the messy stuff. One definable advantage to this recipe is this chicken is just as delicious cold. Thanks Marilyn for posting this--guess whats for CHRISTMAS DINNER?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is officially my new chicken recipe, it was so juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is same as my basic recipe. Sometimes I just use Wesson Oil. I always use my electric fry pan, as I am always doing large batches. Would use more seasonings and add paprika and garlic powder. I also soak my chicken in buttermilk for several hours (makes it very moist). And, the main key is to have your oil SIZZLING hot BEFORE you begin. This helps to keep the batter from falling off. Sometimes I just give the chicken a good browning on both sides and then pop into a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or so to finish it. This is always helpful for large batches, if not enough room in fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Michael, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great add for using egg bater with just egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is the basic recipe my mom taught me at 12. Add spices to taste. Great with hot sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I think the secret is the cast iron skillet. I added Old bay seasoning for a little kick. It was YUM!!! Making it again tonight. BTW it was so good my guest ate all of it and I was so busy I only got one piece. So....tonight I will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is the way my grandmother made chicken and this is the way I make chicken though for my family we use and elelctric fry pan so I don't have to make so many batches. I add more salt and pepper, poultry seasoning garlic and onion powder, paprika, and a dash of cayenne pepper to the dredge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
i used dixie fry in liu of the flour, i added a tbsp of minced garlic straight to the oil. i added cayenne pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and a lil paprika. i fryed it hot first then i let it simmered it just like the recipe said and it was perfect. mmm mmm mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious. My only "constructive thought" is: I found the chicken needed more salt and seasoning, so I'll add more next time. Otherwise, it was better than any other recipe I've found so far for fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Vermeland Paris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
i did not have a problem with sticking i used a regular pan and just added a tad bit more oil. i LOVE this recipe i have been trying to find a good one for fried chicken and not that i found one my boyfreind says its a keeper lol. i did add garlic salt and cayenne pepper and also as one other reviewer mentioned i dipped in flour then in egg yolk then back in the flour which gave the chicken a more crunchy coating in the end very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States