Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
ok, but crust fell off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the only way I knew to fry chicken growing up - my Mom's family is from the south and from the cast iron skillet to the simple ingredients this makes by far the best fried chicken you will ever eat - my Mom wets each piece of chicken under the tap before putting in the flour - it helps the more flour to cling. The other necessity is to get the freshest and least processed chicken you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yummy! Could use just a bit more seasoning if you want more flavor. I used vegetable shortening because it is all I buy. I made chicken tenders for the kids (much shorter cooking time for those) and chicken drum sticks for hubby and I. Perfect cooking time on those! Very good. I also dipped the chicken in an egg/milk mixture before coating in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
FANTASTIC! We tried this recipe tonight and it was fantastic. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
well I didn't post a picture because there was none left. Finally I have found "my" recipe for FRIED CHICKEN! No messing around with milk, eggs and all the messy stuff. One definable advantage to this recipe is this chicken is just as delicious cold. Thanks Marilyn for posting this--guess whats for CHRISTMAS DINNER?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is officially my new chicken recipe, it was so juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is same as my basic recipe. Sometimes I just use Wesson Oil. I always use my electric fry pan, as I am always doing large batches. Would use more seasonings and add paprika and garlic powder. I also soak my chicken in buttermilk for several hours (makes it very moist). And, the main key is to have your oil SIZZLING hot BEFORE you begin. This helps to keep the batter from falling off. Sometimes I just give the chicken a good browning on both sides and then pop into a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or so to finish it. This is always helpful for large batches, if not enough room in fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Michael, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great add for using egg bater with just egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is the basic recipe my mom taught me at 12. Add spices to taste. Great with hot sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I think the secret is the cast iron skillet. I added Old bay seasoning for a little kick. It was YUM!!! Making it again tonight. BTW it was so good my guest ate all of it and I was so busy I only got one piece. So....tonight I will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States