Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was my first time to fry chicken. I even live in the south and used to raise meat chickens! I used two iron skillets for one chicken. I put plenty of crisco (didn't measure) and did as one person suggested and let it get good and hot before putting the chicken in. I also added paprika to the spices. The kids said that it was better than KFC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is the way I was taught to cook chicken by my Mother and she said this was the way her Mother taught her. I am 64 so it has been in our family a long time. An iron skillet is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe is simple, yet delicious. The chicken is nice and crispy, tender delectable meat and with just the salt and pepper as a seasoning allows the natural flavor of the chicken. I notice the cook didn't say how to handle the chicken as it cooks. I learned Fried Chicken should be "Turned" only Once in the pan. Once the edges of the chicken becomes golden brown, Turn the chicken allowing the other side to brown, then remove the chicken from the pan, allowing the chicken to properly drain its excess oils. Nice Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KookingWizet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Arverne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Perfect Southern Sunday Chicken! Green Beans, creamed corn, sliced tomatoes and biscuits. OMG, good eating that brings back memories. This doesn't need anything but pepper and salt to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Sounds good. but pepper the chicken first to make the chicken skin tough. And don't forget the paprita in the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Easy process for someone who doesn't usually fry like me. Take the time to brine the chicken. It makes it EXTRA juicy. [1/4 cup salt per 1 quart of water for 2 hours.] Extra seasoning is a must. Otherwise, the breading is bland. Try Emeril's Essence in the breading and on chicken moistened with milk or water before you bread it. Try hot sauce in the brine or use Hot Paprika in the batter. I like powedered garlic in the breading too. Prepare to be impressed with yourself. This recipe is a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I tried adding additional spices like garlic powder, paprika and onion powder as other suggested, but I really prefer the simple salt, garlic powder and pepper taste. I season the chicken prior to rolling in flour. Your chicken will retain the flavor/seasonings this way. When you sear the chicken to the oil heated on medium high for at LEAST 5-10 min., and then simmer for 30 min. (turn once), that will give you the juicy chicken with the tender inside and deep golden brown crisp on outside. Also, I used a regular skillet, and my chicken did not stick. The key is to simply let your skillet with oil heat up for a good 10 min. before adding chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
so good and easy to make!! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
So easy. I used oil because it was all I had. I also coated in egg yolk per another reviewer's recommendation. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe is PERFECT! Thank you so much for sharing! I took the advice of another reviewer and brined the chicken for about an hour. We are big chicken eaters and I have been wanting to try brining and figured this was the perfect opportunity. The cooking time was perfect, my first batch of 5 legs I cooked 15 minutes longer because I was afraid it would not be done...BIG MISTAKE..it was dry and way over done. I did the next batch of 5 EXACTLY as the recipe said and it was juicy and crisp and absolutely PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States