Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this recipe to rave reviews from my boys! I doubled the pepper though, and added a tsp of Chili Powder. It was the yummiest & easiest recipe! I even made a gravy from 3 tbsp pan drippings, 3 tbsp of the leftover flour mixture, and 2 cups milk. I have never made gravy, and I couldn't believe how easy & tasty it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alsparks73
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I am a good cook, though admittedly not a fryer of chicken. I followed the recipe, I thought to a "T", in a cast iron skillet, but the chicken turned soggy during the covered phase and when I increased the heat, the skin stuck to the skillet, so that when I was done, I had greasy chicken with no skin left on. Certainly not challenging the recipe, would just like to know what you think I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I just made this the other night in place of the recipe I had been using. Throwing out the other recipe and keeping this. I'll be changing the spices I use depending on my mood but this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I have fried my chicken this way for years and never heard any complaints from the most picky eaters. Great the way it always turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda 2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Love this chicken, just like I learned to make from my mom & Grandma. For extra flavor I add poultry seasoning to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
boring...and how do you get 8 servings out of one chicken???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I loved making this for my kids. I have been looking for a really good recipe for chicken and I think I may have found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was my first time to fry chicken. I even live in the south and used to raise meat chickens! I used two iron skillets for one chicken. I put plenty of crisco (didn't measure) and did as one person suggested and let it get good and hot before putting the chicken in. I also added paprika to the spices. The kids said that it was better than KFC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is the way I was taught to cook chicken by my Mother and she said this was the way her Mother taught her. I am 64 so it has been in our family a long time. An iron skillet is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe is simple, yet delicious. The chicken is nice and crispy, tender delectable meat and with just the salt and pepper as a seasoning allows the natural flavor of the chicken. I notice the cook didn't say how to handle the chicken as it cooks. I learned Fried Chicken should be "Turned" only Once in the pan. Once the edges of the chicken becomes golden brown, Turn the chicken allowing the other side to brown, then remove the chicken from the pan, allowing the chicken to properly drain its excess oils. Nice Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KookingWizet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Arverne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States