Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I give the recipe itself 3 stars, but the cooking method is 5+ stars. Total time from freezer to table was 5 hours but the time I spent actively cooking was way less than an hour. I took the frozen drumsticks(that was all I had) and put them in a ziplock with 2 quarts of water, 1/2 cup of sea salt and a splash of tabasco. I brined them for 3 hours. Then I soaked them in a cup of "buttermilk"(regular milk spoiled with a couple teaspoons of cream of tartar) and another splash of tabasco for another hour. Then I rinsed them off and dried them well. I seasoned the chicken with pepper and a cajun seasoning blend. I also season about a cup of flour with more pepper and cajun seasoning(I didn't measure how much). I put this in a ziplock and shook the drumsticks in the mixture one at a time. I then let them sit out on my cutting board for about 20-30 minutes to make sure that the coating would stick. I used my dutch oven and put two cups of oil and let it heat on medium high for about 5 minutes. I put the drumsticks down and let them brown for about a minute and a half on each side then I turned down the heat to low and covered the dutch oven with aluminum foil and let it cook for 20 minutes. Then I took the aluminum foil off and turned the chicken once more and turned the heat up to medium to finish crisping up the other side. Then I let the chicken drain on paper towels for 5 minutes. The chicken was amazing. The outside was crunchy and the inside was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So good! The second time, I did follow the tips from other users to brine the chicken in a half cup of salt to 2 quarts of water for an hour, added 1 tsp of paprika to the mix, and after flouring the chicken I put them on a pan until the coating was gummy, it took 45 minutes for me, I fried them in canola because I didn't have shortening. It sound time consuming, but most of it is waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very easy and turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was my first time ever making fried chicken. I did use twice as much shortening - just thought it needed more to properly fry. I think this just really needs more seasoning! Taste was very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was so good, I could've become teary-eyed knowing that I made it myself! I could never fry chicken the way I wanted to before this recipe. Out of habit, I added a few onion ring halves on the top of the chicken while they fried; this recipe itself is what made it all come together perfectly. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is the way I have fried chicken for 50 years, it's the way my grandma made it and my Mom, I am 75 years old, it's been in our family for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this recipe to rave reviews from my boys! I doubled the pepper though, and added a tsp of Chili Powder. It was the yummiest & easiest recipe! I even made a gravy from 3 tbsp pan drippings, 3 tbsp of the leftover flour mixture, and 2 cups milk. I have never made gravy, and I couldn't believe how easy & tasty it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alsparks73
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I am a good cook, though admittedly not a fryer of chicken. I followed the recipe, I thought to a "T", in a cast iron skillet, but the chicken turned soggy during the covered phase and when I increased the heat, the skin stuck to the skillet, so that when I was done, I had greasy chicken with no skin left on. Certainly not challenging the recipe, would just like to know what you think I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I just made this the other night in place of the recipe I had been using. Throwing out the other recipe and keeping this. I'll be changing the spices I use depending on my mood but this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I have fried my chicken this way for years and never heard any complaints from the most picky eaters. Great the way it always turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda 2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States