Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I must say this is just like my North Carolina Grandma made! Don't have to be from the Deep South! I grew up with fried chicken on Sunday or my mother would change it up with Chicken Paprikosh being a Hungarian married to a southern boy! When I learned how to cook, your directions are just like what I was taught! By accident I found that if you season the chicken with salt and pepper as well as the flour, not bland at all AND shake your pieces in a big plastic bag then put the whole bag with chicken pieces, flour into the fridge for at least an hour, the coating stays on and chicken is more crispy. Being impatient I brown the chicken in hot oil then put chicken on a rack with a pan underneath and bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Crispy and yummy! I serve it with my grandma' s warm potato salad and black eye peas cooked with salty Johnston County country ham. Once in awhile I'll make buttermilk biscuits too. I agree leave your diet behind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The recipe did not call for eggs, and so the flour mix fell off the oil immediately. Also, I wish it stated that a cast iron skillet is necessary for the chicken if you don't want it to stick to the bottom of your cookware. I will try again eventually, changing it a bit, but todays skinless chicken twas not praiseworthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Simply put this is my go to recipe. Never covered my chicken before this and now it is automatic. Everyone loves it and once you get in the routine it is simple to cook up. By the way it tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great recipe and the only way to cook fried chicken. The only thing I added was garlic salt and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Bland, greasy, took more than an hour to cook...never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Truly a Southern fried chicken. Perfect instructions. Please don't mess with a basic thing like SOUTHERN fried chicken. Want eggs.? Scramble a few, but don't roll chicken in them. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is the basic recipe I've used all of my life. It's also the one my Momma used. And her Momma before that. And...Need I say more? I like to salt and pepper the chicken for an hour or more before coating it, and I let the chicken 'set up' after coating (let it rest for 20 minutes or so, in a single layer, before frying--the coating will stick better). I use a bit more salt and pepper than is called for here, and I often add a tablespoon or two of cornstarch to the flour (it makes for a crispier coating that lasts), but it's still the same basic recipe. You can fool around with it, add your own combination of spices (in her later years, Mom liked turmeric and sometimes cumin), and I've played around with it, too. Eventually, I just start craving this recipe. In fact,I'm cooking it right now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good, reminds me of the chicken my brother would bring home from his work when I was a kid. It was the best chicken I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This fried chicken was much easier to make then I thought it would be. I added cajun seasoning and garlic powder to the flour instead of salt and pepper. I think I might flip half way through next time. I didnt use a cast iron skillet but I will try it next time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My six year old told me I could do better when he tasted this chicken. I'm giving it 3 stars because the crust was very crispy and stuck very well to the chicken. Having said that, it was VERY bland and that was after I added additional herbs and salt. I also marinated the chicken in buttermilk for about 40 minutes before I fried it. I would add more salt/seasoning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States