Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This Recipe was Awesome..What a Juicy Tasting Turkey. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHLOVER56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Yes!, once you try a fried turkey,you don't ever want to go back to baking one. Here are two important tips: First it is essential that you inject the turkey (use the Fried-turkey marinade from this site, adding a good amount of cajun seasoning -Zatarans or Chachere's- to make it spicy!), also rub the marinade on the outside and leave the trukey in fridge overnight. Second, yes the oil is expensive, but here in New Orleans we never go to all this trouble just to fry one turkey; we fry 5 o more at a time. Jusk ask your family and friends to chip in for the oil and then have a BYOT party (bring your own turkey). Once fried, the meat freezes well and you can eat fried turkey until X-mas. Third, use a pulley to lower the bird into the hot oil.....and don't let children or pets near it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I tried this and liked it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Between family & Church I fry between 12 to 15 each season. Here are some tips to help cut your costs. Peanut oil is expensive, so to use it as may times as possible watch your temp. I keep it below 375. Invest in a good ditital therm. Wash the bird before frying to remove the dry rub, it just sinks and will scorch the oil. After 2 cookings filter the oil. I also cut off the legs and wings and with a piece of wire hang them on the side of the pot, wings come out in 15min, legs in 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have learned from the Best, the good thing about deep frying is you can add or delete whatever you want. I have added honey of my receipe that I inject the bird with. To each their own, but it does sweeten it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this for my building (military barracks). Not exactly the most picky group of eaters, but I still got rave reviews. When I saw Creole seasoning I new exactly what to use (Tony's Creole Seasoning). Also, as a safety footnote: Fill your fryer with water & put the turkey in (Before cooking of course). This will tell you roughly how much oil to use when you do start cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carter Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
First time frying a turkey this year. I will admit that I like the ease and the amount of time it takes to cook. However, I will have to admit that this isn't my husband's or my favorite way to have turkey. If we still had a regular sized oven we would go back to brining then roasting, however for now frying will work. About frying, we brined the turkey instead of injecting which turned out well. The dry rub we used seemed to just float away from the bird and burn in the oil (so we can't reuse the oil). I don't think we will use a dry rub again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I will never roast another bird again! By frying the turkey, it comes out succulent and so delish! One reviewer said that this is not a "kid friendly" recipe. I beg to differ! Yes, my children steer clear of the frying pot as the bird is frying, they are not even allowed outside. However, they are the first ones to line up for some samplings after the bird is cooked. This is the absolute best way to cook the Thanksgiving turkey. Not only is it delicious, but it also frees up your oven for cooking your side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miami Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Only four stars because kid friendly this is not. But, a good recipe. I've been frying turkeys for years, (and anything else that fits in the pot). Injecting is the only way to go and many stores sell the complete deep fry kit for a reasonable price. ALWAYS deep fry in the yard or driveway on a sturdy flat surface. I have a metal drip pan, (for under auto work), on plywood firmly on blocks. A fire ext. handy, (NO WATER HOSE). And a broom handle w/bicycle grips on each end and a sturdy hook to set the bird in, two person job even with a small turkey. And yes, burner off when setting. HINTS: Make sure completely thawed and pat dried, NO ice crystals. Cut off excess skin around the neck and wrap leg ends to limit scorching. Besides tossing in an onion, several whole gloves of garlic, slightly smashed. Since turkey needs to set anyway, experiment with potatoes or yams, dressing in a cheese cloth, you name it. Have fun and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have been frying turkeys since I was a little boy back in the 70's and 80's. Frying is a southern heritage, it is as important as knowing how to field dress a deer. This is a great recipe for the first timer. I use a rub on the outside and inject the bird with a cayenne, garlic butter sauce I make. To the rookies, be careful with your hot oil, turn off the flame when lowering the bird, and do not get your oil too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLEY CRUISER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States