Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
We fried our turkey outside on a cold day. Very important to have the oil temp 450°F before adding the turkey for the recovery time on a cool day will make the oil much to cold and add tremendous cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! None of us has ever had a fried turkey before and thought it would be nice to try for Thanksgiving. But due to the turkey not being thawed out early enough we had no time to marinate. Instead, we did the recipe as listed except instead of filling the cavity with the Italian dressing, we strained the dressing (b/c the seasoning in the Italian was clogging the injector)and then injected it into the turkey. The rub was terrific. The meat turned out full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great w/cajun seasoning rubbed under and over the skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
We will never bake or grill a turkey for thanksgiving again!! Here's a TIP to add lots of flavor: invest in an injector, and mix your favorite seasonings (don't be stingy!) with a cup of melted butter - we like the creole seasonings like chili powder, cayenne, or emeril's essense. You can even add about a 1/2 cup of beer to the mixture. Or you can buy the pre-mixed injectable seasonings. Inject the turkey with all of the butter mixture, sprinkle some of the seasonings on the outside, and put in a NON SCENTED trashbag in the refrigerator overnight - at least 8 hours. Then fry in peanut oil. The meat will not only be tender, but extra flavorful! Your Thanksgiving guests will appreciate the wonderfully unique flavor of the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
539 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My Husband loves to cook, Thanks to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Loved this! I also used my injector to inject butter. Can't beat that taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
very, very tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
It is not cheap. We used about 5 gallons of corn oil for a 12 pound bird. I injected a bottle of strained Bernstein's Italian dressing and rubbed the bird with a mixture of 3/4 Emeril's Rustic Rub and 1/4 powdered bay leaves. Use two people and a broomstick to lower the turkey. Boy, was it good though! My favorite turkey so far. And the dressing flavor was subtler than you'd think. No soggy skin from where the turkey rests on the roasting pan, the bird was beautifully golden all over. Also, we didn't miss gravy as much as I thought we would because the meat was so moist. Not greasy at all if you have the oil very hot and pat the turkey with paper towels before and after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I have deep fried about a dozen turkeys so far for maybe 25 or 30 different people and have never had a bad review. Young and old alike enjoy this succulently prepared bird. This makes turkey a meal to prepare more than once or twice a year. Stick to peanut oil for deep frying needs. Higher smoke point and it also really seems to accent the birds taste. A+ Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
KID FRIENDLY I RATED LOW ONLY, BECAUSE NO KIDS SHOULD BE AROUND HOT GREASE. OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States