Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
As a first timer turkey fryer, we decided to fry 3 turkeys for the neighborhood block party...our first turkey was a bit dry, since we allowed the heat to get to 375-400 degrees...definitely too hot at 3.5 minutes per pound. The remaining turkeys were cooked at 350 and were TO DIE FOR. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
FANTASTIC! This turkey is absolutely incredible and it really frees up the oven for big gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
WOW! who knew you could FRY a turkey? i took the advice of others and bought an injector! believe me, its the best investment you could make... melted down some butter and mixed it with carribean jerk, parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, and white pepper....This was the JUICIEST bird i have ever eaten. And it cooks so fast :-) Try chicken, and cornish hens, too. i may never roast my poultry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Tasty! I injected a mixture of garlic powder and butter before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Thanks for the recipe and advice. Our fried Thanksgiving turkey turned out great! It was delicious and received rave reviews from all our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Best turkey I ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Very good. We fried our first turkey using this recipe. It was great. I will try injecting the next one that we make. This along with the frying tips made a great turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Very good recipe. Our turkey turned out great. I will definately use this recipe over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I used this recipe as a reference for frying the turkey. The result was great. Instead of using the Creole seasoning I marinated the turkey overnight in a brine consisting of 1 cup kosher salt 1/2 cup light brown sugar 16 cups (1 gallon) vegetable stock 1 tablespoon black peppercorns 1/2 tablespoon allspice berries 1/2 tablespoon candied ginger 16 cups (1 gallon) iced water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Great recipe! We used this recipe along with the turkey frying advice in the advice section. We did not let it sit to marinade overnight. Instead, we injected it with Cajun Garlic Butter (came with the fryer) and rubbed the outside with some Cajun Seasoning Salt (also came with it). If you are in a cold area, make sure to get the oil up to at least 450 degrees to compensate because it really cut down on your cooking time. For Christmas we didn't have enough Peanut Oil and didn't realize it till we were cooking that it wouldn't cover the turkey. So we cut the turkey up and fried it in the basket and it was great! This year I will inject it with the same butter seasoning and leave it overnight, but will lay off the salt rub because it almost made it too salty. 3 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States