Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Only four stars because kid friendly this is not. But, a good recipe. I've been frying turkeys for years, (and anything else that fits in the pot). Injecting is the only way to go and many stores sell the complete deep fry kit for a reasonable price. ALWAYS deep fry in the yard or driveway on a sturdy flat surface. I have a metal drip pan, (for under auto work), on plywood firmly on blocks. A fire ext. handy, (NO WATER HOSE). And a broom handle w/bicycle grips on each end and a sturdy hook to set the bird in, two person job even with a small turkey. And yes, burner off when setting. HINTS: Make sure completely thawed and pat dried, NO ice crystals. Cut off excess skin around the neck and wrap leg ends to limit scorching. Besides tossing in an onion, several whole gloves of garlic, slightly smashed. Since turkey needs to set anyway, experiment with potatoes or yams, dressing in a cheese cloth, you name it. Have fun and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have been frying turkeys since I was a little boy back in the 70's and 80's. Frying is a southern heritage, it is as important as knowing how to field dress a deer. This is a great recipe for the first timer. I use a rub on the outside and inject the bird with a cayenne, garlic butter sauce I make. To the rookies, be careful with your hot oil, turn off the flame when lowering the bird, and do not get your oil too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLEY CRUISER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
i used this recipe as a model for frying whole chickens cajun style with a cast iron dutch oven and matching frying basket.works great for tailgate parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
NEVER GOING TO ROAST TURKEY AGAIN !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
To fry or smoke?? That's the question this year...did both last. I agree that injecting is a must. When I lived where the premade injection juice was not available as it is here in Louisiana, I used 1 stick melted butter,1 bottle garlic juice, 1 bottle onion juice and strained lite Italian Salad dressing and hot sauce to taste. Cajun seasoning rubbed outside is a must as well. If you have problems finding an injector, visit the Vet. The needles used on horses work wonderfuly. Peanut oil is not neccasary unless you are frying more than one in succession. Our family like to deep fry pisolette (rolls) while the turkey is resting...another thing you won't worry about at the last minute taking up oven space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's a safety tip. Trying to figure out exactly how much oil you need is always confusing. Before pouring the oil in, we put our raw turkey in the pot and cover it with water. Then, we pull our turkey out and mark the side of the pot with a marker of some sort to know exactly how much oil needs to go in. That way, you don't waste EXPENSIVE peanut oil and you always know you have enough. Try making Belgian Fries along with the turkey!! Go to www.belgianfries.com for directions. They require two cookings. Once before you cook your turkey and then after your turkey is done a few more minutes back in the hot oil. Crispy on the outside and oh, so fluffy on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
In South Carolina, where your turkey frying skills are as important as important as what church you attend, this one wins every time! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
We tried this for a family get together. I must say it smelled wonderful - I think our whole block knew we were cooking :) It was the first time anyone in our family had fried turkey - everyone thought it was delicious - I did do one little modification. I did inject the turkey with lemon juice the night before. I would do this again but maybe add a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Frying is the only way to go. I've been doing it for years - so much that I've worn out 2 "standard" turkey frying pots and had a 1/4" aluminum bottom welded on my big pot (82 quarts - big enough to do 4 birds at a time!) for added strength. My only suggestion is that when you go to inject your bird (this is not an option in my mind) make sure you have the biggest guage needle you can find. Many of the readily available turkey injectors will clog with a speck of pepper. If you can't find a big enough one, just cut the tip off the one you have - make sure you cut it at an angle. Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this as the centerpiece of our New Year Eve's buffet. Sugestion to complement the frying, brine the turkey in a clean 5-gallon bucket with 2 gallons water, 2 cups of kosher salt and 1 cup sugar for at least 8 hours, preferrably several days if you have the room to spare in a very cool place. Brining makes the turkey incredibly moist when combined with frying. Everyone loved the turkey and many didn't believe it was actually turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States