Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Peanut Oil is THE key! I'm so glad this recipe recommends it. The flavor was just to die for not to mention it's pretty healthy with peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best Thanksgiving turkey we ever had. It was uniformly moist and juicy inside with beautiful firm meat, crackly and brown outside, and not in the least greasy. We will do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhickson731

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sandy Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This Recipe was Awesome..What a Juicy Tasting Turkey. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHLOVER56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Yes!, once you try a fried turkey,you don't ever want to go back to baking one. Here are two important tips: First it is essential that you inject the turkey (use the Fried-turkey marinade from this site, adding a good amount of cajun seasoning -Zatarans or Chachere's- to make it spicy!), also rub the marinade on the outside and leave the trukey in fridge overnight. Second, yes the oil is expensive, but here in New Orleans we never go to all this trouble just to fry one turkey; we fry 5 o more at a time. Jusk ask your family and friends to chip in for the oil and then have a BYOT party (bring your own turkey). Once fried, the meat freezes well and you can eat fried turkey until X-mas. Third, use a pulley to lower the bird into the hot oil.....and don't let children or pets near it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I tried this and liked it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Between family & Church I fry between 12 to 15 each season. Here are some tips to help cut your costs. Peanut oil is expensive, so to use it as may times as possible watch your temp. I keep it below 375. Invest in a good ditital therm. Wash the bird before frying to remove the dry rub, it just sinks and will scorch the oil. After 2 cookings filter the oil. I also cut off the legs and wings and with a piece of wire hang them on the side of the pot, wings come out in 15min, legs in 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have learned from the Best, the good thing about deep frying is you can add or delete whatever you want. I have added honey of my receipe that I inject the bird with. To each their own, but it does sweeten it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this for my building (military barracks). Not exactly the most picky group of eaters, but I still got rave reviews. When I saw Creole seasoning I new exactly what to use (Tony's Creole Seasoning). Also, as a safety footnote: Fill your fryer with water & put the turkey in (Before cooking of course). This will tell you roughly how much oil to use when you do start cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carter Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
First time frying a turkey this year. I will admit that I like the ease and the amount of time it takes to cook. However, I will have to admit that this isn't my husband's or my favorite way to have turkey. If we still had a regular sized oven we would go back to brining then roasting, however for now frying will work. About frying, we brined the turkey instead of injecting which turned out well. The dry rub we used seemed to just float away from the bird and burn in the oil (so we can't reuse the oil). I don't think we will use a dry rub again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I will never roast another bird again! By frying the turkey, it comes out succulent and so delish! One reviewer said that this is not a "kid friendly" recipe. I beg to differ! Yes, my children steer clear of the frying pot as the bird is frying, they are not even allowed outside. However, they are the first ones to line up for some samplings after the bird is cooked. This is the absolute best way to cook the Thanksgiving turkey. Not only is it delicious, but it also frees up your oven for cooking your side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miami Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States