Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Used it at christmas and it was pretty good. Everyone loved it but i expected the skin to be crispier and the inside to be more tender. I even injected with 1/2 bottle of italian dressing but didn't much like that taste. I did cut down on the pepper some and I won't do that next time, and next time I will inject with beer and let sit for 2 days or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We loved this recipe. this was our first time to make the turkey for thanksgiving and we have tough critics in my family. the only thing we did different was we brined the turkey for about 14 hours before marinating it with the rub for about 12 hours. My uncle (the self proclaimed king of the turkey) had me write the recipe down before the meal was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I am so glad I read the reviews! This recipe was GREAT! The turkey does look like it is burnt to a crisp. My husband was horrified when he saw it. However, after I cut it up and gave him a taste he just smiled. Even the skin tasted wonderful. I also rubbed some of the spices under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I hate to sound like a broken record BUT this marinade is amazing. I did get to inject my turkey but (do to bad planning) we only got to marinate it for 3 hours (15# bird). It was still awesome. The skin was simply delicious and the meat was tender and juicy with such great flavors. We used Peanut Oil, approx. 325 degrees for right at 45 minutes. I cannot wait to use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is so good there are not words that will describe this rub. I will defiantly use this for all my birds I deep fry. I was a little worried when making it, when it started to make me sneeze and cough. Even washing out the platter that the bird was sitting on made me cough. But this is the most tasty and juice bird that we have ever done. Don’t worry about the spices it really does mellow when you deep fry the bird. I also used a Creole butter injector which gave the inside a little kick too. Loved it. We just couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Yes, I was nervous about trying this recipe, but trust me it's delicious. Decided to search on-line for a new recipe for Thanksgiving and this one was a WINNER. The flavor is awesome!! In the pass my family complained the turkey is to dry, not this one. Very juicy. Our 10lb turkey was eaten in 1 day. I will pass this recipe on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was the best turkey we have ever fixed. We fixed a 16.2 lb. turkey and this made plenty of rub. I may cut the recipe in half for the next one. I also sneezed and coughed while fixing it and while washing the dish I marinaded it in, but it was well worth it. Be sure to wear gloves while putting it on the turkey. All that pepper can make your hands burn. We will use this rub forever more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This made the best turkey ever! You must give it the proper marinating time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
5 adults just enjoyed a 16+ pound turkey and all agree it's a 5 star hands down!!! It's not a rub, it's a paste, and yes, the turkey comes out black, but YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM!!!! I was certainly nervous about the amount of pepper but I didn't change a thing and it was PERFECT!!! Next time I may inject it, but it's not necessary...and my mother who has enjoyed 70 Thansigivings requests that this is how we make it for the next, I wonder if we can really wait 7 months before making this awesome turkey again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This makes the best and flavorful crust on the turkey and it may seem like alot of cayenne but it's not. My daughter who is 7 ate it and my nephews. This will be one to keep for frying turkeys for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States