Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I hate to sound like a broken record BUT this marinade is amazing. I did get to inject my turkey but (do to bad planning) we only got to marinate it for 3 hours (15# bird). It was still awesome. The skin was simply delicious and the meat was tender and juicy with such great flavors. We used Peanut Oil, approx. 325 degrees for right at 45 minutes. I cannot wait to use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I used this marinade for Thanksgiving. I was worried the outter crust would be too spicy for my kids. But the pepper mellows after deep frying. I will be using this on all my deep fried turkeys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx2step31774

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I have used the recipe for five years now and I love it. I fry two turkeys for thanksgiving and two for christmas and everyone loves it. I have other families that come over just to eat the turkey. I highly recommend this recipe. Nothing Compares. Helpful hint when frying this turkey if you turn down the heat a little while cooking this turkey it will not turn it black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
The first time my husband and I deep fried a turkey, we injected a marinade. It was a pain, and it didn't give the meat an all-over flavor. Since then, we've used this recipe, and THIS IS THE WAY TO GO!!!! The marinade has the consistency of wet sand. I rub it on the skin, under the skin, and in the cavity. Once fried, all the spices become milder and form a sort of crust that you just slice right through. The meat is tender, moist, and incredibly flavorful. Awesome, awesome, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Like most others, I was VERY skeptical about this marinade/rub. I was doing my first Thanksgiving dinner and was very nervous. I kept debating whether to add as much pepper as it called for. And people thought I was nuts when I told them about the recipe. But.. the night before Turkey Day.. My husband and I mixed it all up.. and smeared it on. So it sat overnight. I didn't get much sleep and there were a few times where I just thought about washing the rub off. But.. I didn't. THANK GOD! because it turned out WONDERFUL. The crust was out of this world. I didn't like ANY of the ingredients we mixed together.. but.. added together and cooked like that. Oh my gosh.. just AWESOME. Although, next time.. I think I'd like to inject some italian dressing INTO the turkey. I highly recommend this marinade/rub. And it will be what I use for now on. Oh yeah, and my first Thanksgiving dinner turned out GREAT! and the turkey was a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I am so glad I read the reviews! This recipe was GREAT! The turkey does look like it is burnt to a crisp. My husband was horrified when he saw it. However, after I cut it up and gave him a taste he just smiled. Even the skin tasted wonderful. I also rubbed some of the spices under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
As others have mentioned, I was skeptical this recipe would work what with all the pepper etc. I tried it. The marinade was the consistency and look of very wet coffee grounds,but I forged ahead. I fried the turkey 3mins/lb plus 5 mins and when I took the turkey out it was almost completely black! I was sure it was burned beyond use. I was serving 27 guests for Thanksgiving and this was to be one of two turkeys served. I sliced a piece and tried it - it was one of the best turkeys I have ever had. Give this a try, we will be making it again. P.S. I injected my turkey with a 1/2 bottle of italian dressing strained to remove the big bits of seasoning and 1/2 cup of Reisling wine. Wonderful compliment to the delicious skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We loved this recipe. this was our first time to make the turkey for thanksgiving and we have tough critics in my family. the only thing we did different was we brined the turkey for about 14 hours before marinating it with the rub for about 12 hours. My uncle (the self proclaimed king of the turkey) had me write the recipe down before the meal was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This made the best turkey ever! You must give it the proper marinating time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
When I first saw this recipe I thought it sounded pretty strange, but once tried it became a favorite with family and friends as well. The smell coming from the frier is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States