Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made one of these turkeys last year to compliment the baked turkey my mother made. I was informed this year I would be frying 2 of these, and we won't bake any. Don't be scared by the cayenne. It is not spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was my first time deep frying a turkey and this was the perfect marinade. I have tried vairious oven recipes from this site over the years but none were such a hit as this. In addition, my family has not been big turkey eaters, there were some that even said don't bother with a turkey this year. Well this was the best turkey we ever had. Definetly not spicey so don't worry about the cayenne pepper. The kids loved it. Not greasy. Will make again and again. Used zatarains creole seasoning. I also injected with 2tspns of kosher salt and 1 stick of unsalted melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made mine the night before and then marinated overnight (well, about 12 hrs) - it ended up being too spicy on the outside for me but my husband liked it. I will try this one again but only let it sit for about 6 hours...or reduce the pepper a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southerngal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Wow, is all I can say. My first fried Turkey for Thanksgiving was an huge success. Thanks to this marinade. Initially I was thinking that using 1 cup of any seasoning would be over-kill, in fact when I got to the Cayenne Pepper, I had a coughing attack due to the large quantity of it that the recipe calls for. But after the turkey cooked, you could not tast the cayenne pepper at all. It was very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjacks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We tried this for Thanksgiving yesterday and really loved it! The flavor was fantastic! We also injected a separate marinade and fried the bird.. and the combo of the two made for a world class turkey!! Thanks for sharing your great recipe! One word of caution: this rub did end up turning our turkey black in the fryer.. so some of that was inedible. But it still tasted great and the bird was not burnt... just blackened. Just be forewarned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
AMAZING!!!! I read ALL the reviews.....BEST TURKEY EVER! I was so full after carving the turkey that I barely had room for dinner. Lol! I injected with 1/4 cup honey mixed with 1/2 cup chicken broth before marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Super! Do this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing turkey!!! I am so glad I found this recipe. My family could not stop raving about this turkey. Like others noted, the rub is more like a coating and it takes some time to get it on the bird. I had about 1/8 of an inch covering the breast and tops of the legs, and just did the best I could with the other parts, but this worked fine. We will make this our new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this thanksgiving 2011 because of all the rave reviews and I regret that more people were not honest about the outcome. This marinade is very hot to start, and yes, it is spicy when you eat the turkey. Not a 10 on 1-10 scale hot, but more like a 7. Additionally, the marinade turns VERY SALTY for some reason. I had 2 hypertensives who couldn't eat their dinner. We threw all the skin away so we didn't have to taste the hot spices with our leftovers. On a positive note, it was moist, as all fried turkeys usually are when done correctly. However, the flavor of this turkey DOES NOT GO WITH TRADITIONAL THANKSGIVING SIDE DISHES. I will make it again, but not as my go to thanksgiving recipe. I would use this more for a tailgate or superbowl event with potato salad etc. I wish others who used it for thanksgiving had been more honest. Sorry, just not good for thanksgiving, but it was OK....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
There is only one word to describe this recipe - INCREDIFREAKINLICIOUS!!!! My family is very competitive and you HAVE to come up with something new to keep you in the "game". So, having said that, when I looked at this recipe, I was really skeptical even though I read all the raving reviews. Nevertheless I plowed ahead and made the rub. I rubbed it under and on top of the skin as well as the inner cavity. I felt like I was giving the turkey a massage!! I also injected the turkey with 1 cup italian dressing, strained and 1/2 cup white riesling wine. OMGoodness!!! This was, HANDS DOWN, THE BEST TURKEY I HAVE EVER MADE! I also made a beer and butter injected turkey. 21 guests later, both turkeys are picked clean! My neices and nephews both said this was the best turkey they have ever eaten. So, thanks Allrecipes.com because now I'm at the top of my game in the family cooking competition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States