Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Turned out good, even though one part of the instructions confused me - do you mix the spices with 3/4 of the BOTTLE of dressing, or 3/4 of a CUP? Because I used 3/4 of the bottle and it was a bit sloppy, maybe I was supposed to do 3/4 cup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
November 2010: I was really nervous while I was rubbing the turkey down with this marinade. I was not only feeding adults but children and I kept worrying that the marinade would be to hot for the kids. I was amazed at how much "heat" the deep frying took out of the pepper and seasoning. My kids raved and the adults were in heaven. December 2011: We just used this recipe on a different set of friends and children. Exact same response. Everyone loved it. The thing I learned this time around: the oil is so expensive, so don't waste it. That meant this time we fried three turkeys and then removed the meat and ended up vacumn sealing it for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Like all other reviews this recipe was a hit! First turkey I've ever made for Christmas. No worries about how spicey the rub is precooked because it does mellow out to a great flavor! My fiance loved it and his father said it was better than grandma's turkey! ;) A recipe I will be making time and time again. I did leave the turkey to sit after cooking for about an hour with foil over it just so the juices redistributed and the turkey was not dry at all! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Hate to be redundant however this is the best receipe for a deep fried Turkey I've ever used.....Fantastic and you don't need to worry about the bird coming out to spicy....don't be afraid of the cyenne, etc as it comes out perfcect even for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
It was our first time deep frying a turkey and this was a big hit. Everyone raved about it and said how moist and tasty it was. We had a 14lb bird and there was plenty of rub. Will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I wasn't going to write a review for this recipe because I was afraid I might be flamed afterwards. However, when 6 people sat at the table and said the Turkey was too spicy, I have to do this. 1/2 cup of pepper is way, way too much for a 10 lbs turkey, maybe good for an ostrich. Not only that, you throw in equal amounts of cayenne? Then why not? Just dump in some more spice by adding 1 more cup of Creole. Maybe one of these ingredients with the Italian dressing would be perfect. Now, I am not new to spice, I am Thai and cook Thai food all the time (read:3-5 times a week). However this recipe was trying to be spicy for the sake of being spicy. It wasn't hot, just toooooooo much spice. This isn't my first deep fried turkey either, and I love the crispy skin. Yep, no one ate the skin. The black pepper just smacks you in the face "HELLO!! I AM HERE!!!" Maybe my deep fried technique is wrong? 350 for 40 minutes. Also checked the inside temp to be 180 degrees. So, I have enough turkey meat left, maybe I can cook 15 servings of Cajun pasta. I am sure there is enough spice on the turkey meat for that. Corrective action: If you are unsure about the spiciness of this rub. Just use the Italian dressing with the 1 cup of Creole dressing, 2 tablespoons of garlic powder, and inject the turkey with some garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We used this recipe for Thanksgiving it made the family favorite list over buying the already made in jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srchunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This marinade is awesome! I always brine my turkey for about 12- 14 hours before I apply the marinade. Suggestion: You may try placing the turkey in a large turkey sizes oven bag and then have someone hold the bag open while you apply the marinade. This will help eliminate a mess and will also make for easy placement in your refrigerator. You are also able to work your marinade on the turkey while in the bag. When ready to fry throw the bag away for an easy clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Followed recipe EXACTLY as written! EVERYONE loved it, definitely not too spicy, and ours didn't turn out black. :) We will definitely use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good! Left my oil quite dark and I feel weird about using it again, but it is too expensive to only use on one turkey. The skin was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States