Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have used this marinade for both Thanksgiving and Christmas for a few years now. It goes great with all the side dishes you normally have for the holidays, something injected turkeys don't always do. The skin is the best part. I always let people know ahead of time that the bird will come out dark brown and black due to the marinade. Once they try a taste they are going back for more. Leftovers don't last long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Awesome recipe! My husband was afraid to try it and actually started regreting doing it after we coated the bird. But we read all the reviews and decided to give it a chance. So glad we did, it turned out delicious and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is the best tasting turkey I have ever eaten. I do not like spicy food and thought this turkey would be to spicy for me but after cooking and eating it I found it was perfect. The turkey was easy to prepare and was good on the first try. I have a Big Easy turkey fryer that I cook it in which does not require grease. You can not go wrong with this turkey. I just prepared it again using turkey parts vs the entire turkey and it was still good. I am not sure why all reviews did not give this one five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was PHENOMENAL!! This was my first time making the turkey...After reading all if the reviews I followed the recipe. The only thing I did different was inject the turkey with Italian dressing. I used every grain of seasoning inside an outside of the bird, and let marinade overnight in a large food grade bag (18lb turkey). I used my butterball xl turkey fryer at 325* for roughly 1hr 20 mins. When I pulled it out, it was cooked exactly at 165*. At first taste I thought it was salty, but after carving and serving it BOOM! The flavor was out of this world! It cooked perfectly and did not appear burned. Everyone loved it, but the ultimate compliment was seeing the turkey platter empty at the end of the night (usually we have a little left over). I am DEFINITELY using this recipe next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Best Turkey hands down. Had an 18 lb turkey for 7 people and had only enough left over for 1 meal. It did come out looking burnt and a few people were worried but then everyone wanted a 2nd helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Easy to prepare ...Turkey comes out very juicy n tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
AWESOME Flavor but I will say I was a little scared of the ingredients because most of my family doesn't like heat. I did use 1/4 cup of cayenne pepper instead of 1/2 but there was no spice when it was done. I will do the recipe as pictured next year and I'm thinking about adding a stick of butter to the mix to see how that goes. This was my 7th yr frying a turkey for Thanksgiving and I usually had bought the butter creole marinade at Wal-Mart but they didn't have it in my area this year and they won't have to worry about me buying it anymore. My whole family raved over this turkey. And I was really surprised how the marinade tasted throughout the whole turkey not just the skin. EXCELLENT RECIPE, don't be afraid...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
So we just fried out 14.65 lb turkey on Thanksgiving and OMG was it delicious! Thanks to other reviews that warned us of the black burned look to the bird we did not panic when we removed it from the fryer. However to be honest we were still very nervous. Prior the the guests getting there we cut a small piece of the turkey and let me just say it was hard to stop eating it before family arrived! lol Anyway we mixed the spices as directed the night prior to frying. We covered the turkey, under some areas of the skin, and inside the cavity. We removed it from the frig to fry at 2:30pm the next afternoon and fried it for 45 minutes at around 325/350 degrees. When family arrived everyone thought it was burnt and it was no good! haha For the 1st time the honey baked ham was not touched at all and there was a line for the turkey! Amazing!! People kept talking about it all night and we are expected to fry another for Christmas! This is truly going to be a traditional recipe for us from this point on! Highly recommend it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried this one on my family October 2013 and it was a hit. Every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The flavor was AMAZING. I took cues from other reviewers and injected mine with riesling wine and strained Italian dressing. Other reviewers also stated that it would be blackened and look burned, and that is exactly how mine looked as well. A guest took one look at it and started making comments about how dry it was going to be and how I still have "a lot to learn" (this is my first year being responsible for the important dishes). Well, he was eating his words while he was eating his turkey because the flavor and moisture levels were all perfect. I was very skeptical because of the ingredients but decided to trust the reviews. I'm so glad that I did! Will definitely do again. Only took off a star because of the ugly blackened color it cooks out as.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jstack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States