Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I haven't made this yet but was wondering how I can ensure I get a golden brown turkey instead of a indigo black turkey? My brine has honey (sugar) in it. If I keep everything in my brine the same (2 quarts veg broth, 1 lb salt, 1 gallon of water) and omit the honey, will that help to prevent the blackening of the bird? This marinade scares me but the rave reviews are too positive NOT to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wow. This was the best turkey that I have ever eaten. My family raved about it throughout the entire meal. You will not need to inject the turkey with this marinade. I smeared the marinade on the turkey around 8pm on a Saturday and deep fried it around 5pm the next day. The turkey was very flavorful but not spicy. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious and easy. Marinade rub is extremely spicy and hot when you first put it on or taste test it - but once turkey is fried, all heat is dispated, leaving behind nothing but outstanding flavor. Heated oil to 325 and fried approx 3 1/2 minutes per pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melkitty56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This sounds wonderful, but I will be using an oiless deep fryer. I wonder if it will be too spicy without the oil to tame it down?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent!!!! Deep fried (in an indoor electric turkey frier) a 7 lb turkey breast for my boyfriend and I. Used the entire rub on the turkey breast and it turned out perfect!!! Took about 55 minutes for it to be done (which was about 10 minutes longer than expected). Will use this recipe only from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
We deep-fry a Turkey every Thanksgiving. For the past couple of years, we have used this recipe. Last year we made 2 turkeys. This one and an injected one. The whole family preferred this turkey and suggested I don't bother with any other unless it is a traditional baked turkey. I am thinking this has become the traditional turkey in our house. I like having the space in my oven and my husband is the one who stands outside in the cold and deep-fries. I mix the marinade a day or two before and apply to thawed turkey. I recommend wearing disposable gloves to rub marinade on turkey. AWESOME! TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I cooked this last year (2009) at my girlfriends dads house and everyone loved it. This is the best way to cook a turkey I wont have it anyother way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The ABSOLUTE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
fantastic marinade, this was my first deep fried turkey and it was awesome. My whole family loved it and it only took a short time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Dried out our FRIED turkey. Go figure....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States