Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was the best turkey we have ever fixed. We fixed a 16.2 lb. turkey and this made plenty of rub. I may cut the recipe in half for the next one. I also sneezed and coughed while fixing it and while washing the dish I marinaded it in, but it was well worth it. Be sure to wear gloves while putting it on the turkey. All that pepper can make your hands burn. We will use this rub forever more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I am so glad I read the reviews! This recipe was GREAT! The turkey does look like it is burnt to a crisp. My husband was horrified when he saw it. However, after I cut it up and gave him a taste he just smiled. Even the skin tasted wonderful. I also rubbed some of the spices under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Yes, I was nervous about trying this recipe, but trust me it's delicious. Decided to search on-line for a new recipe for Thanksgiving and this one was a WINNER. The flavor is awesome!! In the pass my family complained the turkey is to dry, not this one. Very juicy. Our 10lb turkey was eaten in 1 day. I will pass this recipe on to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is so good there are not words that will describe this rub. I will defiantly use this for all my birds I deep fry. I was a little worried when making it, when it started to make me sneeze and cough. Even washing out the platter that the bird was sitting on made me cough. But this is the most tasty and juice bird that we have ever done. Don’t worry about the spices it really does mellow when you deep fry the bird. I also used a Creole butter injector which gave the inside a little kick too. Loved it. We just couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We loved this recipe. this was our first time to make the turkey for thanksgiving and we have tough critics in my family. the only thing we did different was we brined the turkey for about 14 hours before marinating it with the rub for about 12 hours. My uncle (the self proclaimed king of the turkey) had me write the recipe down before the meal was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We made this for Thanksgiving for my entire "traditional is the only was to go" family. The only reason that this rub received less than 5 stars is because it served more as a coating vs. a rub that seasoned the turkey. As a coating, it was very tasty - and shockingly NOT peppery (have to be honest, we were terrified at the amount of pepper in this recipe). We have fried over 10 turkeys and this is probably the best coating. The only suggestion that I would make is that next time (and there will be a next time with this coating) is that some Italian Dressing should be injected into the turkey. And the reaction from my tradition-loving family? They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I used this marinade for Thanksgiving. I was worried the outter crust would be too spicy for my kids. But the pepper mellows after deep frying. I will be using this on all my deep fried turkeys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx2step31774

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Like most others, I was VERY skeptical about this marinade/rub. I was doing my first Thanksgiving dinner and was very nervous. I kept debating whether to add as much pepper as it called for. And people thought I was nuts when I told them about the recipe. But.. the night before Turkey Day.. My husband and I mixed it all up.. and smeared it on. So it sat overnight. I didn't get much sleep and there were a few times where I just thought about washing the rub off. But.. I didn't. THANK GOD! because it turned out WONDERFUL. The crust was out of this world. I didn't like ANY of the ingredients we mixed together.. but.. added together and cooked like that. Oh my gosh.. just AWESOME. Although, next time.. I think I'd like to inject some italian dressing INTO the turkey. I highly recommend this marinade/rub. And it will be what I use for now on. Oh yeah, and my first Thanksgiving dinner turned out GREAT! and the turkey was a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I was a little worried that it would be really peppery but it isn't. Comes out completely black...have used it everytime we deep fry! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Don't worry about all the pepper, it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States