Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this marinade last year for our deep fried turkey...It was the best turkey I had ever tasted!! I followed reader's suggestions to add ALL of the pepper and was glad I did. This marinade did not make the meat spicy whatsoever...just marvelous flavor! Looking so forward to making it in again for my family this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Adds very good flavor to the turkey. Used the Creole Seasoning recipe on this site and reduced the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 cup, allowed to marinate overnight. Wasn't too spicy at all (didn't eat the skin though). Next time I will use the full 1/2 cup of cayenne pepper and it will probably be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Best ever! Seemed like waaay too much for one turkey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selma, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this like 4 years ago and forgot how good it was. So I made it this Thanksgiving and I was the bomb. I will make this again so moist and the crust on it Delicious. this is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Hawks- Lites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was really tasty. We did two turkeys, the brine in Brown Sugar and Water and this recipe. It turned out really tasty and the deep frying ensures it's moist! Ours did end up darkening to a very dark, dark brown, but it didn't taste burnt at all and believe me, we eat the skin! The marinade made so much that we didn't use it all and there was enough left for a whole other turkey. I would also recommend gloves for sensitive skin. Really off the wall, but great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
WOW! We made made this for Thanksgiving and there was nothing left over. The marinade adds the perfect flavoring to the turkey and the turkey turned out moist and delicious. Everyone agreed that this was the best turkey they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This marinade was perfect for our first Thanksgiving at our new house. We deep-fried two 11 pound turkeys for 12 people and had plenty left over food for sandwiches! Everyone loved the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuacOff Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This marinade wasn't bad, but it overpowered the turkey and outright clashed with the accompanying traditional holiday side dishes. The leftovers made a good, spicy meat for sandwiches, but the overpowering flavor made the meat less than ideal for turkey soup or pot pie. The mariande just permeated everything, and I LOVE spicy foods--I order the hottest wing possible and then add more hot sauce from the bottle. Perhaps it was the black pepper that overrode all other flavors. I also think this marinade adds spice to the white meat, but doesn't do much for the dark meat, but I also think that's true of deep-frying turkey in general. As a stand alone turkey recipe, it was tasty, but it doesn't complement any holiday side dishes (stuffing, sweet potatoes, etc.) I will not use this marinade for holiday turkey again; I will stick with brining and roasting my bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I've always used cayenne powder. B/c the bird is damp, the powder stays on the skin and is easier to marinate in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Not bad. Tastes better than it looks. Not too spicy. Goes on like coffee grounds, but flows out over the turkey with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States