Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
It was awesome. I will make it again. I have deep fried turkeys before so I was confident in the procedures I was doing, but it does turn BLACK about 15 minutes into deep frying. I recommend watching the video so you know you are doing it right because with some of the negative post, those people saying it was spicy probably injected the marinade into the turkey. It is a marinade for the outside. Don't inject, otherwise the oil won't burn the spices away. Mine wasn't spicy at all and I don't like spicy foods. When preparing the marinade, I can see why people were worriedabout it being spicy, but it will come out perfect. A couple of people weren't paying attention when I said it was going to come out BLACK. They thought I murdered the turkey. We cut into it and it was nice and juicy. Read up on how long to cook per pound and at what temp, but we did it at 350 degrees (was hovering around 325 degrees for some time as it heated up after putting the turkey in. 3.5 minutes per pound. 18lb bird was just over an hour. Also I multiplied the mixture by 1.5 since the original amount is for a 12-14lb bird. Again, look online for proper cooking temperatures, etc. Some Government sites have standards to follow, make sure you read those. But, the temp and time perpound was what they told me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I tried the rub and the gravy for Christmas and I must say it was delicious. I rate this 5 stars. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love Love Love this recipe!! Only problem is, it is the only way I want turkey now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This rub was a serious hit at our party. Everyone chose the cajun bird over the one we simply rubbed with salt and pepper. highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Harb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kevaleva
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I came from a family that always roasted the Thanksgiving turkey in the oven. I think this recipe put an end to that! It does come out looking burnt, however, it is so delicious, even the skin. It was the most tender, juicy turkey we've ever had on the table. I received nothing but praise about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Tried it this year for Thanksgiving! A total hit! Not spicy at all! Had a lot of rub left over since I only had a 10 lb turkey. Will try this rub on chicken! Can't wait to do it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Los Chagos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Ai Trang
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe. The turkey came out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ai Trang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I was very skeptical with trying this recipe since this was my 1st fried turkey. The turkey tasted great! I just didn't like the burnt look of the skin. Is it any way to get around the burnt look? It doesn't look pretty on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We've tried various injectable marinades that were ok, but this is by far the best way to deep fry a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States