Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I am so very dissapointed in this dish. I wanted to do it for a dinner party, I bought 23$ in shrimp and started to make it well............DISASTER!!! The breading was so hard and it started a greese fire in my kitchen! I thought i would give it another try and try my deep fryer............even worse. Do not use this recipe. I am sorry to whoever posted it here but.... it was very bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
These shrimp were wonderful.This was the first time that I have ever made deep fried shrimp, and it turned out wonderful. It appears to me that the problems with the negative views were due to cooking stupidity. These shrimp are arsons, they don't start grease fires...people do! I love them, and I will make them again. Great with steak! A+ to the person who submitted it! P.S It was helpful to scale it down, 4 lbs is a TON of shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
this is the recipe my husband likes it very much. I always use jumbo shrimps to prepare it.And anybody who tried it likes it. I do not know who review this recipe but was not honest enough to judge like that.I think she or he doesn't know anything about seafood that's why easily messed with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
Did not like at all. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Grease fire? O.K., whatever. We hadn't had fried shrimp in quite a while, so I thought the kids would enjoy it for a change. The other nice change was not using bread crumbs. I did scale this down, added a lot more seasonings and coated my shrimp with flour before the batter mixture (to help the batter adhere better). These took only minutes to cook in my fry daddy. Thanks Ladan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
i have to give this recipie 0 stars, this may be okay for those of you who dont live in the South. But where Im from we actually like FLAVOR in our food. For anyone who is actually considering using this.....please use seasoning!! your family will thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I agree with most of the reviewers...this is bland. You do need to add seasonings to the flour...I used Emeril's Essence (like another reviewer suggested). Not my favorite fried shrimp recipe...but it was ok. I don't think I will use this one again, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I have changed my review of this recipe. After having used it several times I noticed that the batter sticks to the bottom of the fryer's basket. The first (or maybe second on one of my lucky days) batch comes out fine, no problems at all. After that it's all downhill. Give the recipe a try, you might have better luck than me - I'm no batter guru to start playing around to see what I'm doing wrong. Thank you for the recipe anyway, it's always good to try new things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I Usually Love fried shimp but this was not good at all. I will not make this again, it needs spices and I dont know where to begin to fix it thats why my rating is so bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was good but instead of using flour i used cornmeal and to my opinion the cornmeal tastes a little better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States