Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Easy and Good. I like adding different seasonings every time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe very much. The only reason I don't give it a five is because, like other reviewers, I added extra spices for more flavor. However, for those who don't like a lot of spices, I think the original would be good. I believe the problem other reviewers have had with this recipe is the sheer amount of shrimp and other ingredients. I quartered the recipe for my family of four. Others have had a problem with the breading, but I used a frying pan and had no trouble with the breading falling off or sticking. The key to my success was stirring often to keep it from sticking. It's not a recipe you can allow to sit for a long period of time and expect to cook properly. You must stay in the kitchen and keep an eye on it. All in all, I found it very easy and quick to make. Preparation and cooking time was about twenty to thirty minutes total. The biggest critics are small children, and my three and four year old both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought this recipe was very bland, I tried adding other things to spice it up but its just not a keeper. I did some of the shrimp that way then stopped and just deep fried the rest in pancake mix with salt and pepper,then deep fried, still not the best but alot better than this recipe. I am still looking for a good fried shrimp recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I didn't care for this recipe at all. I halved the recipe and, per other reviewer suggestions, added Old Bay seasoning. The breading on the shrimp was spongy and not at all crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I have to agree with everyone else, it was very bland and had way too much egg for my taste. I downsized the recipe by 1/2. After the first batch came out I added more flour and about 1/4 cup cornmeal to cut down on the egg, I also added cajun seasoning to the batter to add some flavor. They were eaten but I think I'll keep searching for something that suits our tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe, just like the shrimp in a seafood resturant. What's good about this basic recipe is it's healthy for those with medical problems and you can spice it up to your specifications. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
When i read the recipe i knew it would be bland.. so i added old bay and some cayenne... and a little bit of fish fry mix.. and it came out prety good.. i loved the crispiness and texture of shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Hi love this recipe! My mom usually makes beer-battered shrimp, but I like this crispy batter much better! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Sorry, I have to admit I wasn't impressed with this one either. The breading was too thick for the shrimp, and there was very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I Usually Love fried shimp but this was not good at all. I will not make this again, it needs spices and I dont know where to begin to fix it thats why my rating is so bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States